Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I have been doing this for years as a motorhome tour leader. Two suggestions; first, use only heavy-duty quart-size freezer bags. Cheaper bags will open up and ruin the omelet. Second, use a straw to suck all the air out of the bag after mixing the ingredients or just lay the bag against a sharp corner of a table with the egg mixture below the edge and the top of the bag flat on the table top. Press out the air and seal. Use whatever ingredients you like but crumbled bacon or sausage is my favorite. If you do a three-egg omelet, increase the cooking time to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
870 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This was great for camping. My kids and I were in charge of breakfast for about 20 people. We had chopped everything at home. Then one of the kids wrote the names of everyone on the bags. This turned out cute because he was only seven we wouldn't tell him how to spell anyon's name so he had to guess how to spell names and it was funny to see what he came up with. Everyone threw in what they wanted. The kids shook the bags for everyone. Then we (adult supervision is a must with the hot boiling water) cooked them in a huge pot of water. The bigger the pot, the better. Using a big pot helps to keep the bags from hitting the sides of the pot and melting. We gently stirred them around too, which helped. We served them with a bunch of quick breads we cooked ahead at home and fresh fruit. They were a huge hit and the kids really felt like they were contributing to the group effort. The best guage for time was to pull the bag out and give it a little squeeze to see if it was firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Quick tip for those concerned about melting the bags- drop a plastic colander in your pot for easy, no splash drop ins and removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Watertown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I just finished doing 2 of these omelets. Both of the bags broke in the boiling water. I used good quality zip lock bags and ended up with a watery mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I was browsing recipes, looking for something for dinner that used what I had on hand and didn't take much effort...I found this recipe, and suddenly making dinner went from boring to fun! There's something "mad scientist" about this recipe and the fact that it makes a decent omelette with little fuss or cleanup is a bonus. I used quart Zip-loc freezer bags and shoved them into large tumblers to hold them upright while I broke the eggs into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I loved this recipe! We made it at a family gathering and it was a hit. One tip, write names on the zip lock bags with permanent markers before cooking because after cooking they all look the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The Ziploc company does not recommend that you use plastic bags to cook food in!! Please review what Ziploc says about this before you use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This turned out great. We're definitely making it for teh big family reunion next month. I would suggest using less cheese because it seems to come out a little more crumbly when you put in a lot of cheese. Don't worry, it'll come out hot enough to sprinkle cheese on it so the cheese melts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have had this around for years and it gets a 5 for me on fun, ease, AND clean-up. Great for camping trips (take all fillings in separate bags) and when kiddos sleep over. I do use only heavy duty qt size freezer bags. When making with kids I let them add all their own stuff and do the squishing. I just add fillings to the cracked eggs in the bag and squish everything together at once! (I also label each persons with a sharpie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Ecelent!!!and if i could go higher on the stars i would! First I mashed two eggs like it said but when it said like ham and stuff i just added balony and extra cheese. then insted of just letting it sit in the pot and letting it melt to the sides i put a shiskabob skewer through the top and it just hung into the water. IT WAS THE BEST OMELET I'VE EVER TASTED!!!!!! (i did this all by myself its so easy!) Everyone should try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fruitilicious23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States