Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Been doin these for large family gatherings for years. You can not beat the ease, everybody gets exactly what they like since they make their own, and clean up is a breeze (cutting board, knife and large pot). Note, the larger the crowd the larger the pot needs to be, you do not want to put too many bags in and kill the boil. Enjot and I know you will....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
We made this recipe in high school as a grade for a nutritional and wellness class.we added a tablespoon of milk to the egg mixture though,also if you cut your omlette in half,after taking it out of the pot,and it's runny just put it in the microwave for 15 minutes.to keep our bags from melting we held our bags in the water and held the top of the bags with tongs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I heard of this before from a friend. We make these when we go camping. Cut all the add-ins up at home and pack them in separate containers or zip locks bags and store in your cooler. Quick easy breaky while camping with minimal dishes. Especially if you use paper plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I learned this from a friend of mine while camping 4 years ago. There are always about 15 or so people so they all chip in preparing the ingredients and everyone gets 2 bags of personalized omelets with their name written on them. I have done this at home also just for something different and always delicious. Definitely great for large crowds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I personally have used this for many years. Recently, I started serving a breakfast at the Anerican Legion Post where I belong. The people put their names and table number on the bag. They put in whatever ingredants they want and the bag is delivered to me. I put in the eggs and write the time the bag comes out of the water on the bag. I served over 50 people last month and expect many more this month. An easy money maker for your club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The Ziploc company does not recommend that you use plastic bags to cook food in!! Please review what Ziploc says about this before you use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I've been using this method for camping for many years. At home before going, I shred cheese, chop onions, mushrooms, olives, peppers, ham, etc. Anything that your family or friends that will be there, like in their omeletes. I put those ingredients in either heavy duty freezer bags or small plastic containers. When its time to make breakfast I put on a huge pot of water to boil. Then everyone gets their own heavy duty freezer bag and uses a permanent marker to write their name on their bag. They put 2 or three eggs in the bag and squish it up to mix it, then add whichever of the ingredients they want in their omelete, adding salt/pepper if desired. Squish it around a bit more, sqeeze out the air and drop the bag into the pot of boiling water. We tend to cook them longer than required because we don't want to find uncooked egg in the center. Or you could use the gallon sized bags instead of the quart sized since they allow the mixture to spread out more and thus, cook more quickly. This is the best way to keep from having to stand over the camp stove cooking individual omelets for all those loved ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
First time commenting on a recipe! I LOVED it!! Followed it to the tee and it turned out wonderful! I was nervous at first because I didn't have the expensive freezer bag, just the regular 1 gallon bag and it worked great! No melting, no leaking, no mess! Husband loved it too! This is now a Sunday morning breakfast favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used this recipe when we had some guest staying for the weekend. It was convenient and easy for everyone to make an omelet they liked. I added some additional add-ins for variety and everyone loved the idea and loved the omelet that this recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I've been making these for years, I love it! This is an easy way to make an omelete, just throw whatever you want in the bag and boil. No mess. The omelete's just roll out of the bag and are really fluffy. You do have to make sure you are using good, strong bags otherwise they will come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States