Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Was ok, but 13 minutes is too long, I can make the regular way in a fry pan in about 5 minutes and the veggies are COOKED, not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We do this camping with our family. We have found, however, it is best to add the salsa after cooking. We write names on the bags and then crack the eggs into the bag the night before. Doesn't matter if everyone doesn't eat at the same time - they can cook their meal when they are ready for it. Very little mess and cleanup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is my favorite fat free breakfast! I have done for many years but as I have no stove I have used freezer strength [small for just one - me] placed upright with open about 1/2 inch in take-away container base with about 1/2 inch water and 2 mins in microwave. By the time I get it onto my plate the heat has 'sft cooked' eggs and melted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noosa, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I would prefer to add butter- sauteed ingredients to the seasoned eggs for added flavor..takes a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Fabulous recipe and a wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Just so simple and the end result is more pleasing to look at than what I ever end up with when making omelets. One of the test baglets I wrapped in a warm tortilla - awesome. Put 2 cooked strips of bacon in the bag with the egg, the eggs cooked around them, nice suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Although this was definitely easy, and would be great for campers, you do have to compromise on taste (IMHO). I only made one, and I mixed the eggs before putting in the bags, otherwise follwed directions. After about 7 minutes, it definitely looked done, so I panicked and took it out of the pot. It did slide easily out of the bag, but was for the most part overcooked by quite a bit - and this was at 7 minutes! But the results may have been different if there had been more servings in the pot. If I ever have to make omelets for a large number of people I MAY try this again, but I really doubt it, as the difference in taste is too noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have been making these for years. What I do when making for a crowd, I put all the ingredients (not only the ones listed in this recipe, use your imagination)in separate bowls and hand each guest a heavy duty zip lock bag. The then they add the eggs and squish the bag and then walk arund the table and add whatever ingredients they desire. Write their names on the outside of the bag with an indelable marker and add them to the boiling water. After 13 minutes have them roll theirs onto a plate. It's great for a crowd and everyone gets to eat at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Island Park, New York, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The results are great, but this combination of ingredients and process would be much-better described as 'scrambled eggs' than an omelet. A proper omelet has a filling of separately-cooked whatever put in after the eggs are cooked. KS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Sheffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have done this for years on camping trips. You don't need to worry about broken eggs in a carton. Just boil the water on the fire in the morning and you are all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States