Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I've been using this method for camping for many years. At home before going, I shred cheese, chop onions, mushrooms, olives, peppers, ham, etc. Anything that your family or friends that will be there, like in their omeletes. I put those ingredients in either heavy duty freezer bags or small plastic containers. When its time to make breakfast I put on a huge pot of water to boil. Then everyone gets their own heavy duty freezer bag and uses a permanent marker to write their name on their bag. They put 2 or three eggs in the bag and squish it up to mix it, then add whichever of the ingredients they want in their omelete, adding salt/pepper if desired. Squish it around a bit more, sqeeze out the air and drop the bag into the pot of boiling water. We tend to cook them longer than required because we don't want to find uncooked egg in the center. Or you could use the gallon sized bags instead of the quart sized since they allow the mixture to spread out more and thus, cook more quickly. This is the best way to keep from having to stand over the camp stove cooking individual omelets for all those loved ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
First time commenting on a recipe! I LOVED it!! Followed it to the tee and it turned out wonderful! I was nervous at first because I didn't have the expensive freezer bag, just the regular 1 gallon bag and it worked great! No melting, no leaking, no mess! Husband loved it too! This is now a Sunday morning breakfast favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used this recipe when we had some guest staying for the weekend. It was convenient and easy for everyone to make an omelet they liked. I added some additional add-ins for variety and everyone loved the idea and loved the omelet that this recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I've been making these for years, I love it! This is an easy way to make an omelete, just throw whatever you want in the bag and boil. No mess. The omelete's just roll out of the bag and are really fluffy. You do have to make sure you are using good, strong bags otherwise they will come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
this "bag' thing was awsome, it worked just like the recipe said it would. 3 of us got to add what we wanted, the hubby doesnt like spinach, so guess what he didnt get spinach..my daughter and i wanted all veggies, so guess what...we got all veggies...and they rolled right out of the bag in perfect shape...i love it and ill use it again...maybe for dessert....like a chocolate cake something,,,ill let yall know....tootles...For The Love of Food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is brilliant! This will be a must for camping forever, no dishes, no mess, and delicious!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
EXCELLENT WAY TO SERVE MANY FOR BRUNCH. WOULD BE GREAT FOR CAMPING TOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It works! Didn't make the "omelet" with the ingredients as directed, just chopped some cauliflower and broccoli and threw it in with the eggs. Ingredients sound good.. think the whole idea of cooking in the bag is 5 stars..no butter and no mess..think this is the way to go! I do love eggs in butter though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Neat and easy. Its a lot easier to beat the eggs in a bowl first and then pour them in the bag. That's the only way I've ever done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have been worried about the leaching of carcinogens from plastic into the food supply, but according to the ziploc website Ziploc bags are NOT made with BPA (bisphenol A) and they are dioxin free. They don't suggest the bags should be used, but I see no harm in doing this once or twice. It is a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States