Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
ten years ago at my job a guy I worked with said his wife found this recipe and told me about it, he thought it was funny,i went home and tried it, made it for dinner, I loved it, nice and fluffy, I did learn something from this recipe, I always mixed everything in a bowl then poured into bag, one less dish to wash, if you can't boil water you can make this, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Am giving huge words of caution here regarding using plastic for cooking in boiling water just in case no one else has said something about it here: You must use plastic food bags that clearly state they are approved for boiling not only because of melting points but also because of BPA and other chemicals leaching into the food! There have been several studies regarding this and the FDA requires manufacturers to follow safety standards in order to represent the bags are 'boilable'! Use the same precautions when using plastic for microwaving and baking! With that being said, I love this easy recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have used this for a family camping trip also. Even the fussy eaters loved it and even wanted another one! I have never had a bag break or leak. I think half the fun is in choosing what you want to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Love it! Kids love making their own concoction and taking the adult "orders" for custom omelettes. Sue ... FREEZER BAGS. Food storage bags are not as thick and they will melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Unruh
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I was skeptical but it turned great, was super easy and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I can't believe I've never heard of this before. I used chunks of bacon instead. I used 4 Ziploc baggies and a plastic strainer, like someone else suggested, and cooked it a couple of minutes longer. Once the water was boiling, I dropped the baggies and then turned the temp down to halfway and put a lid on top. The strainer worked awesome and none of the bags broke. I think that this was the best omelet I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
If you try this at high altitude the "exactly 13 minutes" isn't long enough, the eggs will be runny on the inside. I'm guessing 17 minutes in Denver is more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Omelets came out perfectly cooked after 13 minutes. Used quart size freezer bags and did not experience any problems with melting or bags breaking. The omelets rolled right out of the bag. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was just okay. Nothing exciting like I expected after reading the first 3 reviews. I made them this morning for breakfast for me and my boyfriend and the eggs had the consistency of microwave eggs once I took them out of the bag. Removing them from the bag was a challenge as half of the eggs omelette thing stuck to the ziplock bag. The flavor was fine but I just couldn't get over the rubbery texture of the egg. I'll pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States