Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love this recipe! Thanks for the exact time because I'm always iffy on that. I use this a lot and put in whatever ingredients I have in the fridge that sounds good for the day. FYI - these don't look very big, but don't add more eggs! They seems to grown in the bag as you cook them. And to Sue, you definitely need to use freezer bags vs. sandwich bags. They are thicker and don't melt. Just be very careful to keep them off the side of the pan above the water line while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've been using this method at tailgate parties for years. I've never had a bag bust or melt. We have large groups so we prep all the meats and veggies in advance and let everyone pick their favorites. We usually have a small griddle going with hash-browns. No complaints yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe sounded so crazy, I had to try it. Sautéed a few sliced portabellas in shallots, chopped up some broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, red onion (for color), used extra sharp cheddar and some cream cheese, boiled the bags for the recommended 13 minutes - PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
One bag broke, even after boiling 13 minutes ended up cooking the omelets in a pan. Glad it has worked for some folks, I would have liked it to work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My granddaughter had her three little ones choose what they wanted and it went over soo well. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe today , it was ok when I went to take it out when it was done, it was still all liquid inside , so I had to put it in a skillet to finish cooking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe and it turned out great!! I will definitely be making this again and again. I didn't use the mushrooms, I used baby romaine instead and the rest of the ingredients. What a great idea! Romita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Can this omelet be made ahead and frozen? sounds like perfect breakfast for some one with limited time in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Bag melted to side of pot. Ruined eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
There was a question about checking with the manufacturer about the safety of cooking with bags. The Ziploc's web site gives similar recipes using their Ziploc® brand Zip 'n Steam® Microwave Cooking Bags. Whatever you use, use microwave safe bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States