Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was very simple to make but I'm still a bit leary about the chemicals given off by cooking it in a plastic bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I just finished doing 2 of these omelets. Both of the bags broke in the boiling water. I used good quality zip lock bags and ended up with a watery mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were awesome, they looked absolutely beautiful. Came out of the bag perfectly. I mixed my two eggs and all the ingredients in a bowl first, then poured into the bag. I did some with 3 eggs and cooked them about 20 minutes and they were perfect. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The first time I ever heard of this I couldn't believe it until I tried it. And it works! They're quite good. Been making these for quite a while and they're great for when you're on the go. You can add anything you like in your regular omelets! Be sure to get all the air out of the bag before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have had this around for years and it gets a 5 for me on fun, ease, AND clean-up. Great for camping trips (take all fillings in separate bags) and when kiddos sleep over. I do use only heavy duty qt size freezer bags. When making with kids I let them add all their own stuff and do the squishing. I just add fillings to the cracked eggs in the bag and squish everything together at once! (I also label each persons with a sharpie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought this idea was so stupid, that it couldn't work. Boy, was I wrong! I had egg on my face! It is much easier than the traditional omelet and it is lower in calories because you don't need butter to fry in the pan. This is one of best ideas and recipes, I've come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I don't know why, but this didn't work out for me. After 13 minutes I put the omelet on a plate and the middle was not done! I didn't even add all the suggested items either. I had to put the omelet in a skillet to finish cooking. I'm giving the recipe 3 stars because I was able to save the dish and my hubby liked it, but I won't do it in a bag again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is an incredible, easy and fun way to make an omelet. Great for parties and family get togethers. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Quick tip for those concerned about melting the bags- drop a plastic colander in your pot for easy, no splash drop ins and removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Watertown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
worked very well. i really liked the no mess. i folled the recipe pretty much exacly exept i added another egg and the ingrediants that i like in my omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States