Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I used this recipe many times until I read that the bags are not meant for boiling. Very good recipe, but for anyone who cares about their health I would not use these bags. Wait until Ziploc comes out with boil bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Like others, I was skeptical of this recipe. I just tried it now, (followed it to the letter) and it was fantastic! Used heavy duty quart size freezer bags, with no breakage. Next time I might play around with different ingredients (eggbeaters, etc.) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it's so easy, economical, versatile and, oh yeah, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was not to our liking. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used the Ziploc Quart Freezer Bags and had no problems. This was super easy & great tasting! Definitely a keeper and the added plus is there is hardly any clean up! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Carrollton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe! I was at a brunch with 20 people and we were all able to sit down and eat at the same time. Definitely use freezer strength quart size bags, and of course writing your name is important to keep them straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very tasty way to eat omelets. My bags all broke but the omelets were cooked by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wow, what an easy omelet! I used a cheapo zipper bag without problems. I added the eggs, marble cheddar cheese, dill and garlic cheese, and dried onions. I let it boil for around 10 minutes on medium high heat. I will be making these when we go camping in July! I know everyone will love having their own customized omelets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This sounded a little odd to me when I first saw it, but I'm so glad that I gave it a shot!!! This is the easiest recipe, and the results are wonderful. I used a coffee mug to hold open the bag as some others had suggested, used three egg whites instead of the two whole eggs, and then just threw in what I had in the fridge which included: some baby tomatoes, one clove crushed garlic, red pepper, some broccoli, a sprinkle of dried oregano, and a little parmesan cheese. When it was cooked, I spread some Salsa on a whole wheat wrap, and rolled the omelet up in it. Yum ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
GREAT IDEA! Easy to make, and it cuts down on fat because you dont have to use cooking oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grave digga
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the BEST recipe. Great if you have kids or husband who doesn't eat certain foods -- you can customize every omelet. And no frying -- so 0 fat! A couple of hints: (1) cheese is a must, and (2) don't use more than 2 eggs per bag; the eggs won't cook through and will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States