Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Ecelent!!!and if i could go higher on the stars i would! First I mashed two eggs like it said but when it said like ham and stuff i just added balony and extra cheese. then insted of just letting it sit in the pot and letting it melt to the sides i put a shiskabob skewer through the top and it just hung into the water. IT WAS THE BEST OMELET I'VE EVER TASTED!!!!!! (i did this all by myself its so easy!) Everyone should try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fruitilicious23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I've seen this recipe many times before and have tried it and one important thing seems to have been forgotten - use freezer ziplocs as they are stronger and will not break with boiling. Also, every time I have made this I have found the omelettes to be ready in less than the 13 minutes specified, so keep an eye on them and when they seem solid, they are done as overcooked eggs are nasty rubbery things to be avoided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I used this recipe many times until I read that the bags are not meant for boiling. Very good recipe, but for anyone who cares about their health I would not use these bags. Wait until Ziploc comes out with boil bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Like others, I was skeptical of this recipe. I just tried it now, (followed it to the letter) and it was fantastic! Used heavy duty quart size freezer bags, with no breakage. Next time I might play around with different ingredients (eggbeaters, etc.) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it's so easy, economical, versatile and, oh yeah, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was not to our liking. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used the Ziploc Quart Freezer Bags and had no problems. This was super easy & great tasting! Definitely a keeper and the added plus is there is hardly any clean up! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Carrollton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe! I was at a brunch with 20 people and we were all able to sit down and eat at the same time. Definitely use freezer strength quart size bags, and of course writing your name is important to keep them straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very tasty way to eat omelets. My bags all broke but the omelets were cooked by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wow, what an easy omelet! I used a cheapo zipper bag without problems. I added the eggs, marble cheddar cheese, dill and garlic cheese, and dried onions. I let it boil for around 10 minutes on medium high heat. I will be making these when we go camping in July! I know everyone will love having their own customized omelets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This sounded a little odd to me when I first saw it, but I'm so glad that I gave it a shot!!! This is the easiest recipe, and the results are wonderful. I used a coffee mug to hold open the bag as some others had suggested, used three egg whites instead of the two whole eggs, and then just threw in what I had in the fridge which included: some baby tomatoes, one clove crushed garlic, red pepper, some broccoli, a sprinkle of dried oregano, and a little parmesan cheese. When it was cooked, I spread some Salsa on a whole wheat wrap, and rolled the omelet up in it. Yum ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States