Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
WONDERFUL - couldn't ask for a simpler "no fail" recipe. Kids LOVED making their own. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This worked well for us in the freezer ziploc. We just made them last week end on a camping trip. Loved the texture and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Use freezer strength bags, veggies work best but precooked ham, bacon works well too. My family loves these with cheese, onion and bell pepper. No added fat makes these nutritious omelets and very tasty, plus 11 year old can cook these in a hot pot, with easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
sorry we didnt like it plus it was hard to get the melted plastic bags stuck to our pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgraziano

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I've been using this for a while for making breakfasts for my family. One trick I've learned about the bags, I do use the Ziploc snack sized ones, I just do one boil for about 8 minutes, take the bag out of the water, let it rest for about 10-15 minutes, and then boil again for another 6 minutes. This is for 2 egg omeletes. I usually make ham/cheese for my wife, and sausage/cheese/spinach for my self. I also usually use fill a 1/3 cup twice for each bag. each 1/3 is about 1 egg's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I just made these with my nephew (10 yrs old) for a big family group. It was fun to do and everyone had their food ready at the same time. We let everyone choose their own ingredients. A good choice was pre-cooked breakfast sausage links that we chopped up. I would definitely recommend using the FREEZER bags....We used the Hefty brand, but I wouldn't think the brand would matter. The freezer variety is heavier....I saw some concern about the bags breaking....We had no issues. We served them with tortillas and taco sauce/salsa. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stilltrusting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this last night and didn't have the best luck with it. Although I think it was probably my own fault. After I made it I looked back and saw it said two eggs and I had thought it was three. Well I used two whole eggs and two egg whites in mine. I used a heavy duty freezer bag and it held up fine other than at one point for some reason the zipper part of the bag would no longer stay closed which was a problem with keeping water out of the omelet as you could imagine. At the end of the 13 minutes the outsides were done and the middle was not. Again this was probably because I used too much egg. However there was another problem. The egg that was done, well much of it anyway, was stuck to the bag. So I'll have to try it again with just the two eggs because it's a good idea when you have a bigger family like mine with different tastes. Plus I like it because you don't have to use oil. It does take quite awhile though. Not really sure how long it takes to make an omelet normally but this seemed to take far longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I just made this for me and my kids,and my mother. my mom thought i was crazy when i started. but when she tasted the first bite she was surpised and said that was the best omelet she has ever had. My kids are asking for more to bad i only had two bags. i was disappionted because i had to cook mine in the pan:(. thanks for makeing my monday morning great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casco, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Ecelent!!!and if i could go higher on the stars i would! First I mashed two eggs like it said but when it said like ham and stuff i just added balony and extra cheese. then insted of just letting it sit in the pot and letting it melt to the sides i put a shiskabob skewer through the top and it just hung into the water. IT WAS THE BEST OMELET I'VE EVER TASTED!!!!!! (i did this all by myself its so easy!) Everyone should try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fruitilicious23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States