Omelet in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Awesome omelets! We do a large annual event for the Make-A-Wish Foundation with 50+ people. For the past three years the morning meal has been Omelets in a baggie!!! What a Hit! Gibby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We have made these for years. They are great for camping trips as everyone can customize from ingredients we usually have with us anyway. Boil a big pot of water over the campfire and write names on each ziplock to avoid confussion. Easy clean up and kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Had students in a "survival cooking" class do this as a make-ahead breakfast lab. Provided different types of filling ingredients and let each student "customize" his/her individual omelet. Be sure to use a quart-size freezer bag--those without the zipper pulls work best. Kids enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
taste-great! technique-needed improvement. we used a large pot over the campfire. the problem was that if the gallon sized ziploc bag touched the bottom or side of the pot it would melt. there was a lot of excess bag, we decided this would be best with SANDWICH size bags in the future, may prevent bag-burn-through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I just made this for my husband and he loved it. No pans, no mess, no fat, so I loved it too! Only had cheap bags, so I double bagged and it worked fine. What a great no fuss breakfast. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
DELISH! really a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe. Very easy and fun for kids to make with assistance. However, DO NOT USE CHEAP BAGS!!! Goodness what a mess! You have to use ziploc freezer bags. If you don't, don't waste your time because you will have an AWFUL mess on your hands. The cheap bags split on the sides and can't withstand the boiling water. I had to finish mine in the oven the 1st time. The 2nd, with the right bags it turned out perfect. And you can customize for each person's tastes. I made these because I'm terrible at making regular omelets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
LOVED THIS!!! I normally always do scrambled since i cant turn an omelet without breaking it! AWESOME! Like someone says below - make how ever you want its the boil in the bag to take away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have made these quite a few times and they are great and fun to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I think the most important thing here is the concept, because obviously everyone is going to make the omelette to their own tastes :) I think this is a fantastic idea! and so so tasty, also a good remedy as I can never manage to flip an omelette well when I make one in the pan.. but this works perfectly! I've made it twice so far and have had no problems with bags breaking.. I place the first omelette in a freezer bag and shake and tie it and then place the second in a zip lock bag :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States