Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is one of the few highly rated recipes on this site that I haven't liked. I made it exactly as the recipe said but maybe I did something wrong. It took forever to get the middle cooked and when it finally was done it had more of a bread texture than cake. Also, it was lacking in flavor. I expect a rhubarb cake to be tangy and this one was very bland. The topping was like eating a bowl of sugar. I really wanted to like this and am sad that I used up the bag of rhubarb my neighbor gave me on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was a good recipe, but I have a rhubarb coffee cake recipe that is similar to this one, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
The best rhubarb cake ever.Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe was super yummy! I only had light sour cream and it came out wonderfully. I also added chopped pecans to the streusel topping and mixed in my cinnamon instead of sprinkling it on after-the-fact. Mine baked for 55 minutes though I used a glass pan that was closer to an 8x12. Serve it while it is hot. It is fabulous that way! Oh and don't be concerned if the batter seems very sick. It worried me at first but it all came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Needs more rhubarb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made this many times last year and always got great reviews. Now that it's rhubarb season I'm gearing up to make it again! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was great. The top is crunchy, the whole cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just made this and it is lovely! I saw the recipe and really wanted to try it but had no rhubarb, so I used frozen strawberries and used mostly brown sugar for the cake and all brown sugar for the topping. Gave it a real caramelized, sticky flavour. Yummy, yummy, yummy Definitely adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious - a hit with the whole family. I didn't have sour cream on hand, so I used regular whipping cream and a squeeze of lemon juice instead. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, as another reviewer suggested. Light and moist cake, crunchy topping - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Not what I expected at all. I followed the recipe, using pre-measured frozen rhubarb, which I thawed and drained (not squeezed out), so I don't know if that made a difference to the texture in the end. We found the texture to be more like a bread than a cake. It also could have used more rhubarb flavor in my opinion. I think adding 1/2 cup butter to the recipe would have made it that cake texture we were hoping for. Either way, I won't be making it again. I have enjoyed other rhubarb cakes from this site much, much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States