Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe was super yummy! I only had light sour cream and it came out wonderfully. I also added chopped pecans to the streusel topping and mixed in my cinnamon instead of sprinkling it on after-the-fact. Mine baked for 55 minutes though I used a glass pan that was closer to an 8x12. Serve it while it is hot. It is fabulous that way! Oh and don't be concerned if the batter seems very sick. It worried me at first but it all came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Needs more rhubarb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made this many times last year and always got great reviews. Now that it's rhubarb season I'm gearing up to make it again! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was great. The top is crunchy, the whole cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just made this and it is lovely! I saw the recipe and really wanted to try it but had no rhubarb, so I used frozen strawberries and used mostly brown sugar for the cake and all brown sugar for the topping. Gave it a real caramelized, sticky flavour. Yummy, yummy, yummy Definitely adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious - a hit with the whole family. I didn't have sour cream on hand, so I used regular whipping cream and a squeeze of lemon juice instead. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, as another reviewer suggested. Light and moist cake, crunchy topping - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Not what I expected at all. I followed the recipe, using pre-measured frozen rhubarb, which I thawed and drained (not squeezed out), so I don't know if that made a difference to the texture in the end. We found the texture to be more like a bread than a cake. It also could have used more rhubarb flavor in my opinion. I think adding 1/2 cup butter to the recipe would have made it that cake texture we were hoping for. Either way, I won't be making it again. I have enjoyed other rhubarb cakes from this site much, much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is soooo good. I used previously frozen rhubarb so it had probably compressed to the equivalent of 4 cups fresh, and I also added a few strawberries. I used full-fat live culture sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I don't know much about rhubarb, but we grew it in our garden this year, so I had to find a use. This recipe was an excellent one!! It was gone from our house in two days. Very moist and not too strong on the rhubarb flavor. So good, in fact, that my husband said I couldn't make this too often or we'd gain too much weight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Definate 5 stars here. I grew up eating rhubarb in many forms but have long since lost my rhubarb coffee cake recipe. This one far outshines any rhubarb cake I have eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States