Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Amazing recipe! I was short on sour cream, so I added half Greek yogurt and it turned out just fine. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
this recipie is fantastic! I have made it several times and my husband loves it. I also made it with 100% whole wheat PASTRY flour. it is so moist the cake come out wonderful with white or whole wheat. it is actually better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was incredible. My kids loved it and they normally hate cake. I also added a scant 4 cups of rhubarb and don't even think that 3 would suffice. I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream since I didn't have the latter. That added some healthy protein and works really well as a substitute. Very moist. I may even cut some sugar out next time. I'm pretty sure that the recipe is fine on its own, but extra rhubarb is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
It was awesome! I would make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made it as is and was happy with the taste, and the cake was gobbled up. I now use 2/3 cup sour cream & 1/3 cup apple sauce, to reduce fat. I've also made the cake with rhubarb & strawberries, with apple, and with blueberries. Four cups of fruit seems to be perfect when using fresh fruit. Very tummy and easy enough for my 10 yr. old granddaughter to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Awesome! I replaced the white sugar with brown sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Delano, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Simple to make, and delicious. I added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the flour mixture, and doubled the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Fantastic, I didn't have any sour cream so I used 8 oz of strawberry yogurt and it was delicious. I also used brown sugar for the crumb topping and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent!! I used Daisy lite sour cream instead of regular and my family loved it! I also made one with frozen strawberries and it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States