Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I decided to do a brown sugar topping which I like much better and added another cup of rhubarb. Other than that, I would say it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needlewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made it just as the recipes was listed. Seriously dense, moist cake. Looved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Yum! At first some were skeptical but in the end, it was a hit at the office. Thanks for sharing your recipe. When rhubarb season comes around again, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this as our dessert for my family's Father's Day barbeque and it was a hit not only with the adults but the children loved it too! One of those kinds of desserts that you keep cutting just one more little piece off as you pass by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rushford, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Rating: 5 stars. After all the questionable reviews, I was skeptical to try this recipe. However, I did and sure don't know what others problems are but my cake came out just perfect!! I followed the recipe with no changes and it was awesome, so don't hesitate, just ENJOY!! Your friends and family will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Loved it. Used whole wheat flour & yogurt as replacements as well as thawed rhubarb and it turned out great. Was not sure about the consistancy before adding the thawed rhubarb but was very pleased. I put a good bit of cinnamon over the entire pan and the flavor was great. Adding berries would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is one of the few highly rated recipes on this site that I haven't liked. I made it exactly as the recipe said but maybe I did something wrong. It took forever to get the middle cooked and when it finally was done it had more of a bread texture than cake. Also, it was lacking in flavor. I expect a rhubarb cake to be tangy and this one was very bland. The topping was like eating a bowl of sugar. I really wanted to like this and am sad that I used up the bag of rhubarb my neighbor gave me on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was a good recipe, but I have a rhubarb coffee cake recipe that is similar to this one, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
The best rhubarb cake ever.Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe was super yummy! I only had light sour cream and it came out wonderfully. I also added chopped pecans to the streusel topping and mixed in my cinnamon instead of sprinkling it on after-the-fact. Mine baked for 55 minutes though I used a glass pan that was closer to an 8x12. Serve it while it is hot. It is fabulous that way! Oh and don't be concerned if the batter seems very sick. It worried me at first but it all came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States