Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I didn't have sour cream, so I used a 6 oz container of low cal peach yogurt and the rest mayo! Also threw in some brown sugar in the topping mix. This is seriously one of the best cakes I've ever made! I love that I now have something delicious to make with the rhubarb that grows in my yard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome cake!!! just made 2 for my dad who is in assisted living home, and they all raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy H

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. And very easy to make, only Change I made was I added cinnamon to crumble instead of sprinkling on time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashaway, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This cake was good, but I think it was too sweet and a little bland. Next time I will use half brown sugar in the cake and topping, add walnuts to the topping, and add vanilla and spices to the cake batter. Even though I wasn't a huge fan, my coworkers raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Good, but my husband liked the crust on the sour cream-rhubarb squares better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a coffee cake so it is intended to be dense and moist. The recipe is perfect as is. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well before adding to the batter. Its great warm from the oven and just as good cold. Hubby had 2 pieces. I might try using brown sugar for the topping instead of white granulated. It is a great cake that can be used with frozen apple or fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made per directions many times. Only variation is sometimes a little more or less rhubarb. Everyone who tastes this loves it- even people who are not big rhubarb eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My husband had four pieces of this and a lot of others had seconds. I substituted the sour cream for plain yogurt and added some vanilla extract. I changed it to 4+ cups of rhubarb and put half brown and half white sugar. This cake is light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FeistyEats
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great reviews. I used half brown sugar and white sugar in both the cake and topping. I also used 4 cups of rhubarb. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States