Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Good base recipe but I think it needs some modifications. I made the recipe as written except that I reduced the sugar in the batter to 1 cup and in the topping to 3/4 cup and I still found it too sweet. The cake came out super moist, which was awesome and it think it would be great with other fruit too. However I like at least a little bit of tart in my rhubarb desserts and this was just downright sweet. Maybe it just depends on the rhubarb you use. I will play with this recipe some more to perfect it to my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Super moist. More like a coffee cake than regular cake, but the best coffee cake I've ever had. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Beginner cook. After dicing 3 cups of rhubarb thought "THIS BETTER BE GOOD". It was. Had to bake an additional 15 minutes before the tester came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
A fantastic cake! I followed other reviews and added more rhubarb. It was great warm for dessert with ice cream, but would be great as a cake for a coffee hour or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Wonderful. Added strawberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I've made this at least once a month since I found it. it's wonderful. I've substituted rhubarb for cherries fresh pitted as well as frozen and blueberries. I often omit the topping and it's still delicious and a big hit with my family. I've tripled the recipe many times and it freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila J. Calhoun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Great cake, easy to make and delicious. Kids and guests loved it. Can't wait for the rhubarb season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
ABsolutely fantastic!! Made this for a large crowd and everyone raved about it! The only changes I made were to use 4 cups of rhubarb, and for the topping I used brown sugar, mixed the cinnamon right in, and added a some rolled oats. This was great both warm and cold, even a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a FANTASTIC recipe. I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfect! Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very good i added cinnamon to butter sugar mix you put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Heiman- Guth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States