Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday. This cake was very moist and delicious. We kept it in the refrigerator for a refreshing treat. The recipe is great the way it is and great altered as well. Try 2 cups of rhubarb and 1 cup of strawberries and cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Lovely cake. The whole family enjoyed it. Changed one thing, I didn't have any sour cream so I used yoghurt instead. It turn out perfectly. I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonya Wanke
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe was really good! I used the same ingredients for the cake, but used brown sugar for the topping instead of white sugar. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Wanke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
FAVORITE RECIPE... Made it an easy ONE BOWL RECIPE by whisking together eggs, sour cream (or yogurt or greek yogurt)and sugar and adding a tsp of almond extract, then adding flour with salt and soda mixed into it a bit and mixing that in with a wooden spoon, then dumping the rhubarb in (I use more than it calls for!) and stirring, then pouring into greased pan and baking, subbing the streusel topping (though that is good too!) for a powdered sugar glaze when it comes out of the oven. THAT is fast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigha
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Made this with rhubarb from my garden - absolutely delicious! I only used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and replaced the sour cream with plain greek yogurt. Wonderful! Even was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Truly awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
after reading the reviews, I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was sweet enough and full of flavor. I've made it at least four times with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent! Another cup rhubarb makes it extra delilicioous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful moist cake with a nice cinnamon flavor. Perfect when you have a lot of rhubarb but don't necessarily want to mix it with other fruit. The tart rhubarb stands very well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Terrific. We love rhubarb pie (using the Fresh Rhubarb Pie recipe from this site) and can't wait for the season. This year we have a bumper crop of rhubarb and after making several pies, I was looking for a change of pace. This recipe was definitely it. I used the recipe as-is except I used greek yogurt, half brown sugar, and extra cinnamon to suit our personal tastes. I'll definitely make again with and without those changes and in the fall when apples are in season. My college age son is home for the 4th of July weekend so I made this for breakfast. He devoured almost half of it (he's the typical eating machine). We enjoyed it so much that later after our cookout we ignored our other dessert and polished this off with a side of ice cream. Thank you for sharing the recipe! After one use, it is already one of my family's keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States