Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
hi I'm writing from Israel, I'm Jewish, and I agree that NOTHING in the world beats a good bowl of chicken soup, especially when it's winter and/or you're not feeling well. HOWEVER, I must add a small remark: this recipe is NOT KOSHER. I don't keep kosher, but I should explain why: any mix of dairy with meat is forbidden for all religious Jews. since the matzo balls in this recipe are made with butter, they are dairy. if you want this recipe to be kosher, substitute the butter with butter-flavored shortening, just make sure it's kosher, and non-dairy. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love matzo ball soup!...but while the balls float, they don't seem to expand. Instead of turning out large and fluffy, they're smaller with tough insides. Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Renee Bartlome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe was fantastic! This was my first time making matzo ball soup, and it turned out perfectly. I used the lightly salted matzo and added a little extra butter. Note that this recipe makes about 30 or so matzo balls. I froze about half of the matzo balls, then defrosted and added to some broth for a quick soup on another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I rated this 5 stars because this is THE BEST Matzo Ball soup I have ever had!!! I made my own chicken broth (used only chicken necks, celery, carrots, onion and water) on Saturday, strained the broth, refridgerated it for 2 days so it could mellow out, and then followed the recipe for the matzo balls. They are awesome! I used the Manishevitz Egg and Onion Matzo crackers. Maybe that was the clincher. Im feeling like im catching a cold today, so this was the perfect dinner to have. Plus I have leftovers for a couple lunches! My 3 kids and husband also really liked it. THANKS OMA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
In my heart, chicken soup will always be the perfect comfort food because my "Oma" made the best, except she used noodles. As an adult, I'm totally addicted to matzo ball soup and now my kids are too. This is a fantastic soup. If you've never tried making matzo balls, give this a shot; you'll probably never want to put just plain egg noodles in your soup again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
You have to have some big honkin pots sitting around to do this recipe justice, but it's worth it - a great outcome to be sure. Considerations: I used olive oil instead of butter, 5 finely processed matzo instead of purchased matzo meal, and my boxes were larger 16 oz boxes, so I used 20 matzo out of 28 available in 2 boxes. I would add a third large can of chicken broth because as it was, my matzo balls only had room to pile up. I would also try using a scoop with a release, like an 1/4 or 1/2 cup ice cream scoop. I boiled them for a half hour and they were perfect. All hail Oma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I separated the yolks from the whites. I whipped the whites until stiff and after mixing the ingredients I folded in the whites. All of the Matzo Balls floated to the top!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I used one onion, green onion, garlic, and parsley to roll into this mixture. In general matzo ball soup is bland, but this really kicked up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very good. Makes lots of balls. I froze more than half of them. I thought I had my mixture wrong, because the balls did not float right away. Give them a few minutes, they floated for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My 1st attempt at this type of soup and was pleased with the results. Tastes as good as the local deli's soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States