Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
My Mom just came home from the hospital and was craving matzo ball soup. I had never made it before or tried it before so I decided to try this recipe. What a hassle! This recipe take so much time and dirties so many different pots that I would not make it again. I added a ton of salt and used salted crackers but it still was very bland and doughy. I tried to cook the matzo crackers until they were dry like the recipe said but after 2 hours of cooking them, they were still slightly moist. I gave up and went with them anyway. The onions were overkill and I like onions. The recipe did not specify what size onion, so I used 1 small and 1 medium onion - still too much! I think they would be better if they were sauted before being added to the crackers. They remained raw and crunchy which was not very good combined with the mushy dough. Oh! And the mess this creates in a kitchen! The first large skillet I used was not big enough and every time I tried to 'flip' the crackers to dry them out, some would flop out onto the stove and floor. I don't know how I could have gotten the crackers 'dry'. I poured them into a collander and pressed them to remove as much water as I could from them. Maybe drying them in the oven would have been better... Anyway - this is my first bad review but I was very disappointed with the mess and the results. Sorry Oma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
You have to have some big honkin pots sitting around to do this recipe justice, but it's worth it - a great outcome to be sure. Considerations: I used olive oil instead of butter, 5 finely processed matzo instead of purchased matzo meal, and my boxes were larger 16 oz boxes, so I used 20 matzo out of 28 available in 2 boxes. I would add a third large can of chicken broth because as it was, my matzo balls only had room to pile up. I would also try using a scoop with a release, like an 1/4 or 1/2 cup ice cream scoop. I boiled them for a half hour and they were perfect. All hail Oma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was good, but we ended up with enough matzo ball mix to make matzo balls for 5 pots of soup! I threw most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very good. Makes lots of balls. I froze more than half of them. I thought I had my mixture wrong, because the balls did not float right away. Give them a few minutes, they floated for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have used a few different Matzo Ball soup recipes and this is by far the quickest, easiest and morst flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was a great addition to our Passover meal, everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I rated this 5 stars because this is THE BEST Matzo Ball soup I have ever had!!! I made my own chicken broth (used only chicken necks, celery, carrots, onion and water) on Saturday, strained the broth, refridgerated it for 2 days so it could mellow out, and then followed the recipe for the matzo balls. They are awesome! I used the Manishevitz Egg and Onion Matzo crackers. Maybe that was the clincher. Im feeling like im catching a cold today, so this was the perfect dinner to have. Plus I have leftovers for a couple lunches! My 3 kids and husband also really liked it. THANKS OMA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Tried matzo ball soup at a restaurant years ago, but it certainly wasn't as good as this recipe! This is the ultimate curing soup that I make for myself or my boyfriend when we are sick, and it always leaves us feeling better the next day. In addition, I usually add some chicken pieces - I make the broth myself-, as well as some shredded root vegetables like carrot and potato, I do assume celery would be good too. However, this is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a good recipe, but I like to add a few more things to my Matzo Ball Soup. I add chopped carrots and celery, as well as a package of egg noodles. It just gives it more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mestena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Living In: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was great. I made it for our passover dinner this year and everyone loved them. Many of whom had never even had Matzo ball soup before. Even the kids were asking for seconds. Thank-you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States