Oma's Cottage Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Brilliant recipe that I will use again and again. I don't like adding a base as it adds extra calories. I used 1 x 500g of 2% fat cottage cheese, 2 eggs, half cup of honey, 3 tbsp plain flour, pinch of salt and 2 tsp vanilla extract - I didn't bother with the milk as I like a dense, creamy texture. I blended all these ingredients together until smooth and baked in individual ramekins in a roasting dish half filled with water. I baked them at 160c for 25 minutes and they are divine. Rich, smooth, creamy and I challenge anyone to guess these are low fat. The second time I made these, I added half a cup of crunchy peanut butter to the mixture before blending. Just gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
OMG. I had no idea cottage cheese could taste so heavenly. I used a store-bought crust. I would probably double up the mixture next time but as is, it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious! And so easy to make. I will be adding this as a go to dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLA613

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Of course this isn't like real cheesecake but it is a nice, easy substitute. I don't think I will add the milk next time and I will try and strain the cheese a little more. There seem to be endless variations so it will be good to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe with a few changes- no cinnamon in the crust, half the lemon juice, and added about 1/4 c. Cocoa powder as another reviewer did and half a block of no fat cream cheese I had leftover. If you omit all the lemon juice you lose the "cheesecakey" flavor and get a more puddingy result. The lemon gives it that tang and helps firm the cheesecake. My blender couldn't handle it so I used a bowl and an immersion hand blender. easy! It took about an hour and then I turned the oven off and left it cracked for about 15 minutes. It was firm, rich, and delicious- even my husband was amazed that cottage cheese could be so yummy! Thanks for sharing Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used a store bought deep dish pie crust instead of the graham cracker base. The texture of the cheese turned out great and the filling amount was perfect! I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup honey as I wanted to keep it low on sweetness. Also threw in half of a banana into the mix and skipped the milk and lemon juice. Put in some lemon grinds for flavor. Used a hand blender for the mixing. Had some Kiwi lying around, so decorated with sliced Kiwi and orange grinds, it turned out great! Thank you for this easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really liked this. I couldn't't tell there was no cream cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I tried making it and just loved it! Yes it's a bit lighter of a cheesecake, but still very good! I fed it to several people without telling them it was a diet cheesecake and they all loved it! I think the key to making it really good is to make sure and blend the living day lights out of it. I blended the mixture until it was absolutely silky smooth and it baked up super smooth and creamy. The other change I made was to add 1 tbsp more lemon juice AND the zest of a large lemon. This really punched the lemon flavor up and made it taste deliciously lemony. I also only baked it for 50 minutes. This is best cold the next day - being overnight in the freezer firms it up a good deal. I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Delicious! Very light and airy. I omitted the milk as several reviewers suggested. Excellent flavor, will make again however will try it with the milk. Next time I will try using crushed ginger snaps in place of graham crackers as a nice contract to the lemon. Also might try with a mix of flour, ground almonds and butter. Husband loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I have made this cheesecake twice recently. The first time I didn't change anything, except omit the cinnamon, and we loved it. The next time I made it with my homemade Greek yogurt instead of cottage cheese and added the zest of 1/2 lemon. It was delicious this time also. Both times I topped it with cherry pie filling. Thank you Sheryl K. for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States