Om Ali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Awesome and different! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I thought this was absolutely amazing! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wow! Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband is from Egypt. When I told him i found this recipe he went insane, telling me I must make it. The amount of sugar shocked me, but was not overly sweet as i assumed it would be. There was a bit of milk in the bottom but he told me most shops have it a little liquidy. I ended up baking mine longer to make it a little thicker for me, but my husband says this recipe is how it should be made. I love the taste, no complaints here. It's just my taste to have it a little thicker. I also skipped the raisins, but I assume if someone likes raisins, it would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberShahin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
My wife and I honeymooned in Egypt in July 2001. We first had this dessert at a little place called Paprika's in Cairo, and INSTANTLY fell in love with it! This recipe is quick, easy, and really captures the taste as we remember it. Doug & Michelle Eckert (East WIndsor, NJ)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is a special (BUT SUPER RICH!) treat!!! What's that about this not being presentable?? Be creative! If a dish tastes great, then it most certainly can be made to look great, too! I cut the philo pastry into long strips, putting a layer of strips on the bottom of the pan, covering with half the nut mixture, layering with the rest of the pastry, and topping with the leftover nuts. Also, I cut down on the sugar... for me, sweet with 1/2 cup in the milk & 1/2 cup in the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I am Egyptian and have been looking for a good Om Ali recipe, similar to the one I adore in Egypt. This IS it! Thanks Nancy for sharing a wonderful recipe - anymore Egyptian/Mediterranean recipes, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I have a similar recipe and I make this dessert often. As I know there no one "right" recipe for this dessert. You may substitute some nuts, play with amount. I use walnuts, hazelnuts, raisins, dates and coconut. I bring milk and sugar to a boil and then I add 1 egg. Be sure to use heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was good however I did not watch it the first time when I broiled it and had my timer set for 10 mins and it burned it really bad. Second time, I watched it and in about 7 minutes it got slightly burned. Still tasted good, Just make sure to watch it carefully when you broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Was a winner made it for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States