Olympic Gold Medal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are the best oatmeal type cookie I have ever baked. I grind the oatmeal in the blender and add ground flaxseed. I reduce the sugar by 45g and use wholemeal flour. Also, I use raw sugar instead of brown and white sugar. Everyone who has tried these cookies loves them. P.S. My oven bakes these in 17min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Best oatmeal cookies by far!! I changed the recipe a little*** and they came out just perfect! I made them bigger about 4 inch diameter, added 2 onz of milk and one cup of coconut shaves. I only used 3/4 of the butter and increased the cooking time from 20 to 30 minutes. Result: I've created a monster cookie, chewy in the center and crispy edges. Delicioso!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
Absolutely the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have every had. Have tried many recipes but none as good as this one. Everyone who has tried these had loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I always like to have some kind of theme food when watching the Olympics. I made these cookies for the opening ceremonies of the Salt Lake Winter Games. The golden raisins and walnuts make them a nice variation of traditional oatmeal raisin cookies. I used a large Pampered Chef cookie scoop to drop my dough in golf ball-sized portions. I was pleased to get twice the expected yield--three dozen cookies, each four inches in diameter. Thirteen minutes of baking time was enough to produce soft, chewy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
A perfectly flavored, crispy cookie!!! I made them for my husband to bring to work and everyone raved about them!!!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Sometimes I am tempted to try other oatmeal cookie recipes, but I always return to this one. It is a favorite cookie of my daughter-in-law, and many other family members. I don't think this recipe can be improved, and I am always suspect of anyone who grades a recipe when they alter it! I have found the light raisins make the cookies superior. I have used dark raisins when I did not have light ones, the result is not the same outstanding cookie. I usually don't use the nuts -- due to family preferences -- but they are great either way. I am surprised this recipe doesn't have more reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I make these for my crew at the firehouse and they are a huge hit! Especially when we get busy...we can grab one of these cookies & go. They really tide us over until we get the chance to eat a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbeuler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
pretty good, but a little too sweet. Good texture. Nice use of oats and wheat germ to sneak in some fiber! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, made them a bit smaller ("normal" sized), and reduced the baking time accordingly. I love the idea of using the wheat germ but although these were tasty, I found them a bit bland for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I had to add regular raisins as I had no golden, but will try them another time. I would have liked to added walnuts but I wanted my 19 mth old can't have nuts yet. Added a half teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cookies bake for 12 minutes and took them out looking a little gooey to avoid crispiness that others reviewers complained about. A nice oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States