Olivier Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LollySoly
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This food is so Delicious and is a good dish for family and friend gatherings or birthday parties. The chicken breast also can be replaced by ham so the cook time would be decreased. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LollySoly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
An excellent dish as is. Instead of using 1 can of drained peas I substituted a thawed 12 oz package of frozen peas and carrots. Also added a little garlic and finely diced yellow onion for added flavor. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My mom's version: she uses leftover chicken, turkey or ham(smoked is awesome!), adds a tablespoon of lemon juice and a raw shredded carrot. Canned peas are OK but she uses frozen-they cook in minutes. We do not use onions, it will take a strong overpowering onion smell and taste, especially if you're planning to keep the leftovers for a while in the fridge. Best if chilled over night to let the flavors blend:you can really taste the difference. Store in air tight containers and it will last for a week in the fridge. (DOES NOT freeze well) Great as a sandwich spread or side dish. your favorite chicken wing or fried chicken dish will go well with it. :)--For those who rated the recipe without reading the directions: tomatoes are NOT used in the recipe, they are only the garnish--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I am from Russia and this is very close version of Olivie salad. It is known as New Years' eve dish, everybody have it in Russia during this time of the year. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
this is the exact recipe for salad olivier except for the tomatoes. you dont mix it in the salad. you eat it seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Olivier Salad is called "Salad Olivier" in Iran, and the version that I learned has grated carrots (optional, but no tomatoes except as a side platter). Iranian cooks typically boil chicken (I use bone-in chicken breasts) to cook it (creating very tender chicken and a delicious leftover stock), and shred the cooked soft-boiled chicken with a fork (rather than chop it finely). Also, they grate their potatoes and hard-boiled eggs (as in this recipe) instead of mash them simply because they generally do not have potato mashers in their market. Iranian cooks very commonly decorate the "mayonnaise topping" with salad ingredients (see the photos). I like to make this salad VERY RICH with A LOT of eggs and chicken so that it is a cross between a potato, egg, and chicken salad to make it more filling (the VERY RICH version is my version: not an authentic version). In Iran, Salad Olivier is commonly served with side platters of pita bread and thinly-sliced tomatoes as a meal. The pita bread may be cut in eighths so it can be used as a kind of "salad holder" as it is being eaten, usually with tomatoes. I like to take Salad Olivier to potlucks: it has a beautiful presentation! I tell my friends that it is my "Persian Potato Salad." After Christmas, I sometimes make a turkey version of this salad (not authentic) with my usual leftovers (turkey, potatoes, deviled eggs, and pickles). Salad Olivier tastes best if the filling (no mayonnaise topping) is made a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Add 1 small cucumber diced 1/4 x1/4' and about 1/4 lb smoked salami diced very fine and you will see the difference. It brings a lot of freshness and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I put less mayonnaise in it and used deli chicken. Forgot the pickles and tomatoes. But the combination of chicken, egg, potato and peas was rather unexpected for a salad and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States