Olive Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used crescent rolls and cut the triangles into 3 separate pieces. I tried the phyllo dough but thought it was too difficult to use! I pressed shredded cheddar cheese into the dough. Sprinkled with garlic salt and/or paprika. I tried the pimento stuffed large green olives and I also tried almond stuffed and Jalapeño stuffed olives too. Very easy and my husband really liked them. He didn't think he would. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These are awesome appetizers....and I don't even like green olives. When I had them at a party...the hostess had added cheddar cheese to the recipe. She finely shredded the cheese and sprinkled over dough and lightly pressed it in b4 rolling around olive. It made these little numbers even more delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I used the samller green olives with pimento and also larger garlic stuffed ones and the smaller ones worked best. I would probable cut the big ones in half next time. More pastry around the olive is not better! These were easy,fun to make and tasty. Great with cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
These look like pinwheels. Wrap the pastry strips around the green sides of the olives so that the pimiento is visible. This way, you have a nice red & green hors d'oeuvre for Christmas. These are different, with appropriate colors for Christmas. Tasty and interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Everyone loved these, and they were so easy. For the second batch, I sprinkled garlic salt on the pastry- which added a nice touch. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious and easy. Taste even better when you press cheddar cheese in the dough before adding the olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebok72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spirited Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These were fun! I made this for my annual Halloween-themed dinner last night and they turned out well. I pressed a little grated cheddar cheese into the pastry as well, and that made them even better, and kinda looked like creepy crusty skin on the eyeballs :) The only bad thing was that the pastry stuck a little to my work surface, so as I tried to roll the olives the pastry stretch out a bit, and it ended up being more pastry around the olives than I wanted. Still turned out great though, and my husband really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I give this 5 stars for being perfect in itself and the perfect jumping off place for experimenting...next time I will at a little grated cheese pressed into the pastry, or a dab of pesto, or an anchovy rolled up....soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
WOW so delicious!!! I made these with garlic olives I got from an olive bar, and they were AMAAAAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
very easy and friendly to assemble, and nice to present. I had them for Xmas dinner, they were good, the kids liked them better than other more sophisticated recipes... so where is the drawback? only, they were nothing to write home about...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States