Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a great base recipe, but I did do a few things differently. I first salted each piece of eggplant, let it sit for 30 minutes, drained and then rinsed each piece with water. This allows it to lose a lot of moisture so that the roasting gives it a very nice texture and consistency. Then I added basil, oregano and garlic powder to spice it up so that I can serve this with pasta and sauce. It is a delightful alternative to eggplant parm, and a lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
871 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a delicious recipe, I really liked it and didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I really liked this very simple recipe. It is nothing extravagant, but it is very good. I elected not to use any pepper. Easy to prepare, an excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is a very basic but solid recipe. Good for a night when you don't feel like putting in too much effort in the kitchen but want something healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
You can also use Extra Light Olive Oil instead of Extra Virgin Olive Oil for a lighter olive oil taste to it. Also if you want a little kick to it you can add red pepper flakes before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktmoo
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Nice and simple. Came out well but i accidentally added to much salt oops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktmoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found this recipe to be not very good at all. The taste of the olive oil was overpowering and it just wasn't the right flavor for the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gourmet Housewife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was pretty good. Nice healthy way to have eggplant. I also let the eggplant sit in salt for while, I find it's the only way eggplant cooks well. I added garlic powder and some dried cilantro to them when baking and then dumped half a lemon's juice on them when I removed from oven. Yum! Thanks to whoever posted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I agree this is a good base recipe. I added more olive oil, to which I stirred in a large amount of minced garlic. I also added dried basil to the salt and pepper. My husband loves eggplant and he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States