Olive Oil Cranberry Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Made exactly as written and turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueberry_chica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I also omitted the cranberries (and cloves, since I only had whole) and used used orange zest and a tsp of Madagascar Vanilla as suggested by others. I made it in a 9 in cake pan, and served it with fresh (unsweetened) whipped cream, blackberries, and strawberries. This was even better than the same cake served at a local 5-star Philly restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Added more cranberries for flavor and topped with orange glaze and found it to still be somewhat bland. Needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Made this with the orange peel and lemon extract, omitted spices. Used the orange glaze. A little tedious to make but a big hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Excellent taste and texture. I tried out this recipe to get a healthier alternative to a butter/whole egg dessert. I did substitute 1/2 tsp. ginger for some of the cloves (cloves are very strong and wintery for my taste). I used a Spanish olive oil described as "fruity" in taste. I will make this again with the blueberry option and serve it to guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Delicious and moist cake! I drizzled the top with melted white chocolate and everyone gobbled it up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very moist, mellow flavor. Might add more cranberries next time. A little dark looking. People hesitated because of the words "olive oil", but when encouraged to taste a bite they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is an incredible cake, I am a new cook and this is the first cake I’ve made, it was so much fun. My Mom and Dad loved this cake, the sweetness and spices were just right for us, and I loved the occasional tartness of cranberry. I did make 2 changes, I used corn oil and used 4 whole eggs for more flavor, instead of 6 egg whites. I separated the eggs, adding the yokes while putting in the buttermilk. I will definitely be making this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Really tasty, not too sweet like some cakes. I used "extra virgin" olive oil and didn't find the flavor too strong. I also used the orange zest, plus lemon extract as other review mentioned, but still put 1/4 tsp cinammon in batter + the cranberries. The cake tastes wonderful and looks great. If you have a real sweet tooth, you might want to make a glaze for it, but I like it this way, myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This cake is really good and light. I would recommend it to anyone. It is also good for you since it is made with olive oil instead of butter, and egg whites only. Yet, you would not know this when you taste the cake. By the way, I used light olive oil (not the extra virgin one) and omitted the cranberry and spices, and instead added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon lemon flavoring, and 1 tbsp grated orange zest. It was delicious. My revised name for this cake is "Mediterranean Orange Cake". I also made a glaze using powdered sugar and some orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States