Olive Oil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
this recipe is great. I learned, you can over proof the yeast. It will swell and use to much of the liquid before you add it to the flour. which will make dry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cheney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very nice bread. The inside is soft and the outside is crusty like a French or Italian loaf--and I made regular loaves in my bread pan. Perfect! It is tasty as well. I doubled it and had to add a bit of water. Loved it and will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So good! Mine didn't turn out very pretty, but it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was good. I'm glad I read the comments before making it, I did end up having to use more water, it was quite a process! LOL :D BUT....it was a fairly easy recipe with that adjustment. My only "complaint" is that the crust tasted funny....but I'm not sure if it was something I did in the process that caused it or not? The inside of the bread was nice and chewy and delicious. I will definitely try again and maybe use a better olive oil (I think I didn't use Extra Virgin, maybe that's the difference?). It was so easy to put together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittEnJ
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Bread turned out great but recipe left out 3 crucial things; only mix yeast with water and sugar until lots of bubbles (mine took 20 min), only absorb 2.25 cups of flour, and when u cover in bowl to let rise, this took 3 hours. Had to throw out first one. This recipe took @ 6 hrs, not 1.5. Loaf was 8" long, 4" wide, and 2.5" tall. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made this with a chicken Milano recipe. We loved it. No leftovers! Crunchy outside and soft inside. Looked so impressive right out of the oven. I brushed with some garlic butter before baking. Also I made the three cuts on top as pictured. So yummy and easy to make! I will definitely double the recipe next time! also I did use King Author bred flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have used other french bread recipes but I really really like this one it has a good taste and very tender on the inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twang65
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a really simple bread. Like some of the other reviewers I only added 2 C. flour. I also used a Mix Master with a dough hook. I added probably 1 more T. olive oil while it was mixing and the dough came out perfect. I added rosemary into the dough and a little on top before I baked. i also added a pan of water at the bottom of the oven while it baked. This is a dense bread but delicious and a nice texture. I think if I make it again I would add just a little bit more salt but if you use salted butter on it it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twang65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I use this recipe for pizza crust. It's so easy to roll out on the pan, and it tastes great and cooks to have crispy edges -- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
ok my worst nightmare is making bread. BUT I tried this twice and each time adding the salt to the yeast bowl KILLED the yeast. A few more of these and we could have built a hut ! Also, how long should I let the dought rise. I waited 4 hrs and the only thing that happened was NOTHING! Please be aware novices are reading your recipes and don't omit anything. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States