Olive Lovers Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Wow, this recipe takes me back. It's been comfort food in my family since my mom was a kid. As written the recipe gets 4 stars, but leave out the ketchup and add a teaspoon of good paprika (the sweet Hungarian kind or Spanish smoked) and it goes up to 6 on a scale of 1-5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is excellent. I do like it better without the ketchup I too chopped the olives used the juice of the olives very nice got great reviews from all who were here to taste it and from those who had never heard of such a dip Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I LOVE olives. I have been making this dip (minus the ketchup) for years, I, too, add some of the olive brine to thin out the cream cheese. I rate this recipe a four star because of the ketchup, which is, in my opinion, an unnecessary ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Have had this for years in different social circles but didn't know the measurements until I found it here. Omitted the ketchup (have never had it looking pinkish but to each his own). Simple and delish. I added a few tablespoons of olive juice as suggested (to taste - I went with 3 tbsp for a half batch) to give it extra flavor. Chilled for two hours and it was all melded. I only made a "half" batch with 1 block of cream cheese and half a jar of the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I didn't think it was that good. I followed the recipe exactly and took one of the suggestions of a fellow reviewer by rinsing the olives first to eliminate salt. It was still salty and the ketchup did nothing for it. I had enough ingredients to make a modification based on suggestions of other reviewers. I washed 10 medium sized olives. I placed them in a blender with 8oz cream cheese and 6 TBSP of mild taco sauce. For the final touch, I sprinkled the top with shredded cheddar cheese. This turned into a olive tasting southwestern dip. I'm glad I did a trial run before serving the original to my co-workers. I'm sure they would thank me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We have been making this dip for years! It is super simple and yummy. Sometimes we also will make it without the ketchup and that's really good too. Either way it's wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
looks as yummie as it tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia-7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the craziest recipe! It was surprisingly good. It was midnight before I remembered that I was having a potluck at work today, so I needed a recipe with few ingredients that I had on hand as the store was closed. If you are unsure about your fondness for green olives, this probably isn't a recipe for you. But I tell you what, I got several requests for the recipe and my bowl was pretty much licked clean. Don't omit the ketchup...I know, I was skeptical but it adds the right amount of secret flavor so it doesn't seem like you just bit into a brick of cream cheese with a mouth full of olives. This is actually a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Like others said, way too salty. I probably added too much juice. Other than that, it's good! I also left out the ketchup and put in a 1/2 cup of sour cream. This made is creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I wasn't sure how this would turn out, but I made it for an office party and it was a huge hit! I used cocktail sauce instead of the ketchup as one reviewer suggested. Easy & yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States