Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Our family and dinner guests enjoyed this dish last night with steamed rice. I had to prepare the dish early, so I browned the chicken, then put everything together and let it cook in a crock pot on high for 4 hours. During the last hour, I added fresh thyme, and it was wonderful! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I give it 5 stars, cause seriously, I was really nervous making it... I didn't see how the olives would be good mixed with tomatoes and wine, but it was exquisite! Will definitely make again, and I have already forwarded the recipe to my sister! One thing I changed... only had 3 breast, which was plenty for my husband and I, but kept other measurements the same. Also used one can of diced tomatoes... drained it and added 2 fresh tomatoes quartered. Delicious.. As recommended, I served it over Saffron rice, what a great idea.. TOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Like others I found this way too bland as written and I honestly think 45 minutes is way too long to cook the chicken as it ends up turning out rubbery. The second time I made this I doctored it up with loads more garlic, lots of fresh basil and oregano and substituted heavy cream for the chicken broth. I also removed the chicken breasts after browning them, made the sauce, brought that to a simmer then re-added the chicken and simmered it for 20 minutes. It turned out much better for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I am embarrassed to say, I have had this sitting in my RB for over 5 years LOL and finally got around to making it. It was a desperation dinner, but it was very good. All I had was a dozen chicken legs in the freezer so I thought I would give it a try. It was GREAT. We LOVE LOVE LOVE green olives and DD had a great time cutting the olives for this. I only had one Roma tomato and a few grape tomatoes so I used one can (10 oz?) of diced tomatoes, didn't drain and also the fresh ones I had on hand. A LOT of green olives, maybe 30-40, mostly cut in half, and dried Italian seasoning (no bay leaf). Also, I only used 2 large cloves of garlic, next time will go for 4. I didn't have any white wine so I used about half of the tomato can full of chicken broth and a splash of Merlot. I covered and baked for around an hour and the chicken was falling off the bone. I served it over white rice and with English peas. It was a huge hit! Both my 5 & 2y/o ate 2 chicken legs each. Hubby took leftovers to work. This is a keeper for our family for sure!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great dish. The olives mellow considerably as they cook. I skipped the white wine and added additional chiken broth to replace the liquid. I also used canned diced tomatoes. I have been making a version of this for years that involves breading and frying the chicken before simmering it - I like the ease of prep on this version. My other version doesn't include tomatoes - it's good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic! To the reviewers that found it dry or overcooked, try flipping the chicken over halfway through, and I even basted it every 10 minutes or so. As per other reviewers, I was afraid the final product would be too salty, so I didn't add any salt and it was perfect. I used all chicken stock, as I don't care for wine in cooking, and used cornstarch to thicken the sauce when it was done to pour on the top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very yummy! I totally forget to put the tomatoes in but it turned out great. As a couple of people noted I added some corn starch at the end to thicken the sauce. Served over rice. Will make again. Will probably bake next time because the chicken was not very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Good flavors. I used thin sliced chicken breast cutlets, pounded uniformly thin. This reduced the cooking time to almost nothing. I also added a few canned artichoke hearts cut into quarters, just because I had them on hand. I also noticed if can substitute black olives such as calamata and the flavor is still very good. A keeper. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Although modified a bit, I think I achieved a similar result. Rather than thyme, I used Italian Seasoning which had thyme in it. I also used canned diced tomatoes (no fresh on hand), 1/2 black olives & 1/2 green olives (thought the appearance would be better), and no broth as the chicken breasts were frozen which gave off sufficient liquid with the wine. I did deglaze the pan with flour and wine but also had to add 3-4 T. concentrated dried tomato paste to help thicken it. Having only 4 chicken breast halves, the sauce was sufficient to serve over pasta. This is a quick meal which will become one of my go-to recipes when I just can't think what to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is fantastic! I find that the only change that I make is to omit the extra salt (seasoning the chicken, etc.) because the olives add enough salt. I just season it with Italian seasoning before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salisbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States