Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very yummy! I totally forget to put the tomatoes in but it turned out great. As a couple of people noted I added some corn starch at the end to thicken the sauce. Served over rice. Will make again. Will probably bake next time because the chicken was not very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Fairly nice chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I usually use fresh ingredients, but in this case I did use canned Italian style diced tomatoes. I only used chicken broth due to an allergy to wine, but used 2 TBSP Italian dressing to cook the chicken in instead of oil (I halved the recipe) as I find chicken cooked in only olive oil is flavorless. Other than these minor changes to adapt to our taste I followed the directions carefully and served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I liked this recipe better than hubby did. It's the sauce that makes the recipe! The chicken is just chicken but the sauce is good on potatoes or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Used 6 drumsticks, skipped the wine, and used chicken bouillon and some chili powder instead of chicken stock. Mixed everything together, covered and baked for an hour. The result was a very rich soup that went along great with rice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jocemalyn
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is so easy to make, and tastes so good! I followed the recipe exactly, and the hardest part about cooking it is waiting for it to be done simmering. I've subbed veggie broth for the chicken broth, and it makes no difference. And, they taste even better the day after you make them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocemalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic! To the reviewers that found it dry or overcooked, try flipping the chicken over halfway through, and I even basted it every 10 minutes or so. As per other reviewers, I was afraid the final product would be too salty, so I didn't add any salt and it was perfect. I used all chicken stock, as I don't care for wine in cooking, and used cornstarch to thicken the sauce when it was done to pour on the top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved this dish. I used skinless chicken thighs since I had them on hand and diced canned tomatos, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The flavors of the wine, olives and thyme made this dish just delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Thought this was good. I had about a half of a jar of garlic stuffed green olives that I've been trying to figure out what to use them in to get rid of them. This recipe was it. Instead of 8 chicken breasts, I took three large breasts and sliced them into thirds. Browned the chicken in a skillet and then added garlic, bay leaf, thyme, pepper, 1 large tomato(diced), my half a jar of green olives(chopped), a jar of pimentos (without the olives), 1 1/4 cup white wine, 1 1/4 cup chicken broth. Brought to a boil and reduced heat to medium and continued to let the liquid reduce. Served with saffron rice and roasted broccoli. Turned out very good and all of my green olives are gone :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was just fantastic - I was amazed at how flavorful the chicken was from just a few key ingredients. And so so tender. Great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States