Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kelvin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Great recipe, easy to fix, great taste. What more could you ask for. Served on a bed of pasta with olive oil & garlic. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We didn't have all of the ingredients, so impromised.....no fresh tomatoes so we used Rotel spicey tomatoes-one can. We have wonderful jalepeno and garlic stuffed green olives, so we used those. Yep-we kicked it up a couple of notches...also served it with "homemade" egg noodles! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
....sound delicious...this is not a review , rather an opinion, breast of chicken, as like any lean meat, will toughen up the more you cook it... I think 7 to 10 mins depending on thickness will do the trick on this dish...unless you prefer to use bone in chicken legs...like the ones in the ilustratiion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuBoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Easy and delicious. The only change I made was to use a small can of sliced black olives because that is what I had. Served it over wide egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Loved it!! The only thing I did different was when chicken was done, (I used thighs), I thickened to a medium sauce to pour over rice and chicken! A big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Delicious -- mine took a little over 45 minutes (55), but I had large Chicken Breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenmullins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Like others I found this way too bland as written and I honestly think 45 minutes is way too long to cook the chicken as it ends up turning out rubbery. The second time I made this I doctored it up with loads more garlic, lots of fresh basil and oregano and substituted heavy cream for the chicken broth. I also removed the chicken breasts after browning them, made the sauce, brought that to a simmer then re-added the chicken and simmered it for 20 minutes. It turned out much better for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Made this the other night and just getting to write a review. It is great mix of flavors, really surprising when you look at the ingredient list. Only thing I changed was added more garlic, we love our garlic. I always chop the garlic really fine and leave it in the sauce. I have also done a very similiar recipe with fish and we loved it also. I use a firm fish like cod and quickly brown the fish on one side, remove to plate make sauce and then add the fish back and let simmer till fish is done. Very quick, easy and everyone loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyann39
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Although modified a bit, I think I achieved a similar result. Rather than thyme, I used Italian Seasoning which had thyme in it. I also used canned diced tomatoes (no fresh on hand), 1/2 black olives & 1/2 green olives (thought the appearance would be better), and no broth as the chicken breasts were frozen which gave off sufficient liquid with the wine. I did deglaze the pan with flour and wine but also had to add 3-4 T. concentrated dried tomato paste to help thicken it. Having only 4 chicken breast halves, the sauce was sufficient to serve over pasta. This is a quick meal which will become one of my go-to recipes when I just can't think what to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was excellent! I used diced canned tomatoes (with liquid), as I didn't have fresh, and ended up having to thicken the sauce with a little corn starch and water, but otherwise I did everything else the same and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States