Olive Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I added butter and fresh cilantro. It was just ok, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraCoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. After reading the other reviews re the seasoning, I doubled the paprika, ginger and added a teaspoon Thyme. I had whole (not pitted) green olives and shaved about 20 of them. I figured they would flavor it more due to the cut up pieces, so I did not add salt. As it reduced, it was flavored perfectly and it didn't need any. The rest of the recipe I followed normally and accompanied it with sticky white rice. I expected a new unique experience with the olive flavor and I wasn't disappointed. My wife and I loved it and I couldn't eat enough of it. My teenager turned her nose up at it, but I chalk that up to her not liking green olives. I will make this again and again. This recipe is very different, but in a great way...we personally loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
i tried this its amazingly come out delicious and olives gave strange but nice test
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a nice recipe but lacked a little "something." I added saffron and threw in some dry wild mushrooms that I reconstituted the in boiling water with the saffron. Needs an herbal touch, perhaps some thyme and rosemay. I would make it again but with a touch more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I was eager to try a new chicken recipe but admit I was pretty wary of this one. In the end, it was great! I used most of the ingredients as part of a marinade and then threw it all into a pan to cook together. After reading earlier comments, I figured I should go light one the olives so I didn't even use an entire 10 ounce bottle. They turned out to be great accents. It was nice to make something new! The chicken is perfect with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I had to scale this back for 2 and I added a few strands of saffron...this was amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It is an excellent recipe, but that is a LOT of olives. I used a 10 oz bottle of green Spanish olives for a 5 lb chicken and it was still too much. Since my chicken was double the size, I doubled the water and that was too much. I salvaged the dish by using the remaining liquid (after the chicken finished stewing) to cook up couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
SO good! Chicken just fell apart!! soo soft & full of flavor. I loved this recepie.-- Best part -- EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband ate as much as he could, my son wouldn't touch it. My daughter picked the potatoes out. I thought it was salty, I liked the ginger/lemon flavor. I think if I were to make again I would rinse off the olives and use chicken stock instead of olivs brine/water. But hubby said never again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Good Simple, Nelson liked. Different/surprising taste with olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States