Olive Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Delicious! The first time I prepared this recipe I followed the directions exactly and found the chicken to be a little tougher that I like. The next time, I browned the chicken in the oil after sauteing the onions, then placed everything in my ceramic crock pot dish and baked it for an hour in the oven uncovered - then put the crock pot dish in its holder, covered it and cooked it on med for another hour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. After reading the other reviews re the seasoning, I doubled the paprika, ginger and added a teaspoon Thyme. I had whole (not pitted) green olives and shaved about 20 of them. I figured they would flavor it more due to the cut up pieces, so I did not add salt. As it reduced, it was flavored perfectly and it didn't need any. The rest of the recipe I followed normally and accompanied it with sticky white rice. I expected a new unique experience with the olive flavor and I wasn't disappointed. My wife and I loved it and I couldn't eat enough of it. My teenager turned her nose up at it, but I chalk that up to her not liking green olives. I will make this again and again. This recipe is very different, but in a great way...we personally loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Very good flavor. This has become a standard in my repertoire of chicken dishes. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a nice recipe but lacked a little "something." I added saffron and threw in some dry wild mushrooms that I reconstituted the in boiling water with the saffron. Needs an herbal touch, perhaps some thyme and rosemay. I would make it again but with a touch more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I had to scale this back for 2 and I added a few strands of saffron...this was amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It is an excellent recipe, but that is a LOT of olives. I used a 10 oz bottle of green Spanish olives for a 5 lb chicken and it was still too much. Since my chicken was double the size, I doubled the water and that was too much. I salvaged the dish by using the remaining liquid (after the chicken finished stewing) to cook up couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The olives were a bit strong in this dish- even for my husband who loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I was eager to try a new chicken recipe but admit I was pretty wary of this one. In the end, it was great! I used most of the ingredients as part of a marinade and then threw it all into a pan to cook together. After reading earlier comments, I figured I should go light one the olives so I didn't even use an entire 10 ounce bottle. They turned out to be great accents. It was nice to make something new! The chicken is perfect with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
SO good! Chicken just fell apart!! soo soft & full of flavor. I loved this recepie.-- Best part -- EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband ate as much as he could, my son wouldn't touch it. My daughter picked the potatoes out. I thought it was salty, I liked the ginger/lemon flavor. I think if I were to make again I would rinse off the olives and use chicken stock instead of olivs brine/water. But hubby said never again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States