Olive Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Best olive breat recipe yet, and if you're going to spend 3hrs making bread, you might as well make two loaves. the first loaf will be gone right out of the oven. NOTES: 2pkgs dry yeast; 12oz jar pitted kala olives chopped; 1.5 tblspns salt; Brush bread with egg white for a good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
Wonderful.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This recipe is really good. To make it more savory I rolled out the dough and spashed on some olive oil and sprinkled bleu cheese crumbles, more olives and more rosemary, then rolled them up like cinnamon bread. It's so good with any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Wow, adapted this to my bread machine and it is good. Really great toasted with mozzarella cheese. YUM! I also made it with whole wheat flour (with added vital wheat gluten) in the machine with great results. BTW, it worked best for my bread machine when I calculated for 10 servings, squeezed the olives out thoroughly and tossed them with the dry ingredients, and used 1 3/8 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as given, and it yielded two lovely loaves of bread. Will definitely make again! Edit: My bread looks NOTHING like the picture, which I'm pretty sure is a picture of a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Yummy!! This bread was a hit at a superbowl party that I went to. I added the bleu cheese as suggested by someone else who wrote a review, it was a nice touch to an already mouthwatering recipe. We dipped the bread in seasoned olive oil, it was sooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Barber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is excellent! I like my olive bread nice and herby, so I added 1/4 tsp each of thyme, oregano, and basil. I covered the crust with sesame seeds and a bit of coarse salt. I also added some chopped bell peppers, which meant I needed to cut the water a bit. I would not advise anyone to mix their water first...active dry yeast does not need to be activated, and good bread making technique is to add water a bit at a time until the dough is right. Don't let the water dictate the flour content. Even without the additions, this would be nice tasty bread....thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Brilliant recipe! I give it five stars, even though I don't really care for kalamata olives I thought it was good. For something new, try having good ole' green olives IN KALAMATA OLIVE'S STEAD! It makes it AWESOME-ER. Sorry for the childish writing style, but this is a pretty cool recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Best bread I ever made. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I really like this. A tad dry with all the flour, but if you make as directed you would just stop adding the flour at the right consistency. I used my bread maker on the dough setting, so I think I'd stick with 7 and 1/4 c of flour. The olives do add some liquid, so it also depends on how wet they are. Hubs wasn't a fan, but he's not a fan of olives, so no surprise there. I made 2 small loaves and one large loaf; I'd probably make a few rolls next time and 2 larger loaves; it might be my smaller loaf pans, but if I don't divide carefully, I get too big of loaves. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States