Olive and Blue Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I have been making this recipe for the past 30 years and my family looks forward to it every Christmas. I use black olives instead of green, roll these in chopped walnuts and serve with onion flavored crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyPieya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
So Good! Perfect with a Martini. I thought that the blue cheese might be too strong, but I was so wrong. This recipe was a hit during our Football Party, the men wouldn't step away from the table. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I make this with chopped balck olives. It is a hit everytime. This was the dish that showed me I love bleu cheese. I serve it with Triscuts. Always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Don't forget the martini. This was great. I do recommend that you prepare a day before for all the flavors to mold together. The first day you could distictly pick up the butter flavor. As others have said, goes great with wheat thins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was really good! I'm an olive and blue cheese lover by themselves, but the taste together was very good! While eating this, I was thinking it would be good warmed in a crockpot and served more as a "dip" than a "ball". I'll have to try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was great and SO simple! I love green olives and bleu cheese, so this was perfect. I made it the night before serving. My grocery store was out of fresh chives, so I subbed 1 TBS. fresh parsley instead. Other than that, made it per the recipe. I plan to make it again for Christmas Eve. Thanks for sharing this recipe--I know my cheeseball family will enjoy it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was unbelievably good. I love to take pictures of the food I make from AR, but, we had already eaten half of it before I could get my camera out. I will try next time to be faster. Believe me something has to be really good for me to give a 5 star rating. I used a combination of Roquefort and an English cheese called Shropshire Blue. Wow. Otherwise I didn't change a thing. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent. I used a tub of flavored cream cheese with chive and onion flavored. 1 tablespoon of butter and continued on with the blue cheese and olives as directed. results were awesome. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Best cheeseball ever, hands down. I make the recipe for 20 or 30, then we eat it for days. I now use gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese for the extra zing. This cheeseball actually seems to get better as it stays out, and in the days after (from the fridge of course). Perhaps it is the cheese getting to breathe. Feel free to add more of whatever you like in the recipe, and there is room to experiment. It also tastes fine if you get the salad olives with pimentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This cheese ball was a hit with my blue cheese loving friends. Salty, creamy, and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States