Olivada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
excellent for an olive lover. These olive recipes always seem to be a bit salty though. I topped this on top of greek style hummus and served with pita triangles. I once added basil and that is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Five stars for easiness! I love any recipe I can whip up in my food processor in under ten minutes. I reckon this tastes best paired with simple fare like celery sticks or other vegetables, as it's a strong flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for a celebration for my daughter's high school graduation and it was a big hit! Everyone loved it. I made a slightly larger batch (using 4 cups of olives) and had a little left over. The next day, I cooked up some pasta and tossed with the Olivada...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilene Warfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written... maybe it was the brand of olives I bought, but I found this to be extremely salty... maybe if I had read FatCatAnna's recommendation to rinse the olives before blending it would have turned out better.... I hoping the company I will serve it to won't mind the saltiness.... otherwise it will have been a big waste of money. Kalamata olives are pretty expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I love this. I add a little red pepper and rub the mixture under the skin of a roaster and bake the chicken. It infuses the chicken with flavor and the bird comes out moist with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe is so simple to make and takes no time at all. Each time I make this recipe its gone in no time at all and everyone wants the recipe. Only change I made was I use 1 clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
You could even use canned black olives for this, but fresh is preferred. Followed this recipe to a T, and served it with pita triangles and tortilla chips. It is a little oily, but there was nothing left in the bowl afterwards. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added some roasted red pepper and artichoke hearts. I also added a bit more liquid due to the extra ingridents (red wine vinager). I took it to work at the cafè and we slathered it on everything (exspecially some tuna burgers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I admit I'm not a big olive fan, but my husband is, and even he thought it was just too olive-y. I made it per the recipe, then after tasting added a can of black beans and blended well. The colour stayed the same, but the taste was mellowed quite a bit. I will make this again...but will add the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I always have an empty dish to bring home from dinner party when I bring this along. I like to throw in abit of oregano (dry/fresh - whatever you have on hand) along with a handful of diced up sun dried tomatoes (I use ones that aren't in the oil). I have used a combination of olives as well - and it turned out great. Make sure that you rinse your olives first tho' - it cuts down abit on the saltiness of the brine that they are stored in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States