Oliebollen (Dutch Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
A Dutch friend of mine suggested that I find a recipe for these, and am I glad he did! They were heavenly. My children immediately declared them 'apple fritters' but in any case, my double recipe disappeared long before the ball dropped on New Year's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfulmotherof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The only place I know that sells these is a little Dutch bakery in Bishop that's hours away. When I found this recipe I just about died! I made them for Christmas morning & everyone in my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESRANCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i had never heard of oliebollen until a couple of weeks ago when my husband was talking about his childhood traditions. I tried them on New Year's eve and they turned out fantastic. My husband said they tasted exactly like he remembered! thanks for the great recipe flourGirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Just like mom used to make! Well, not quite, but I think it'a more a question of technique. I had to add more milk to make the dough smooth, but they tasted great! Lekker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Our Oma, my stepmom, always made Oliebollen around New Years. Unfortunately, she died last year and when I went to find the recipe, realized it was in her Dutch cookbook (I can't read Dutch). I tried this recipe and it is very similar to what she made. I made one batch with milk and apple for the grandkids, the adult batch with warm beer, apple, raisin, and dried cranberries. Oma always added finely diced citron, but not everyone cares for citron. Made a double batch and they were gone in a flash. Also reduced the salt and used active dry yeast, even with the beer batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
My mom used to always tell us about a little bakery in Washington state where she would buy Oliebollen and we've never been able to find them in CA. I was so glad to find this recipe! We made them and had a great time enjoying them! They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the second year I've made this recipe for my Dutch husband on New Years. He swears it's just as good as his Dad made while he was growing up in Holland. A few tips - one package of active dry yeast works the same as the fresh yeast, and I also reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I like to do have the batch with cinnamon mixed in with the powdered sugar. Make sure to finely chop the apples - they should only add flavor, not a lot of texture. Lastly, the balls need to be at least golf ball size - so use an ice-cream scoop to drop them (gently) in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyrex Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I am dutch and must say that these are spot on perfect. My family has made these every new years eve since I can remember. I made these tonight and everyone agreed that these are the real thing. I heavily sprinkle on powdered sugar when they are cool and the crunch and taste is just addicting. I will be making quite a few tommorow for New years eve. Thank you soo much for the recipe. Happy New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
My grandma's both use to make these (in the basement 'cuz of the oil smell!) for the holidays. Another German woman I knew made them and call them "Futchins". They are DELICIOUS!! Gramma never added currants, just raisins and apple, but she shook them in cinnamon sugar rather than powdered. Accurate recipe!! Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
As a daughter of a full Dutch father, this is what we would look forward to EVERY New Years day. It was a tradition. These are very good but I made them the way my dad did. I did a double batch and used 1 cup of beer (rrom temo) and 1 cup warm water. Did not use milk. Also only used 1 cube of yeast because of the beer. He also made it and let it rise all night and made them in the morning. I have done this tradition with my kids since my dad has passed and hopefully they will carry it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States