Oliebollen (Dutch Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
As a daughter of a full Dutch father, this is what we would look forward to EVERY New Years day. It was a tradition. These are very good but I made them the way my dad did. I did a double batch and used 1 cup of beer (rrom temo) and 1 cup warm water. Did not use milk. Also only used 1 cube of yeast because of the beer. He also made it and let it rise all night and made them in the morning. I have done this tradition with my kids since my dad has passed and hopefully they will carry it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
They were very good, but way to much salt. I had to throw away the first few batches. Once I cut back on the salt they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
My grandma's both use to make these (in the basement 'cuz of the oil smell!) for the holidays. Another German woman I knew made them and call them "Futchins". They are DELICIOUS!! Gramma never added currants, just raisins and apple, but she shook them in cinnamon sugar rather than powdered. Accurate recipe!! Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Just like mom used to make! Well, not quite, but I think it'a more a question of technique. I had to add more milk to make the dough smooth, but they tasted great! Lekker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
My mom used to always tell us about a little bakery in Washington state where she would buy Oliebollen and we've never been able to find them in CA. I was so glad to find this recipe! We made them and had a great time enjoying them! They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Oliebollen has always been a huge tradition in my family for New Years Day. It was my favourite thing of the New Year. I decided to make this for my first New Year in China, and it was terrible! The dough didn't rise, and it was so salty, the apples even took on the taste of the salt. I thought maybe I had made a mistake somewhere and forgot to add the sugar, but there's no sugar in this recipe. I'm glad to hear some people enjoyed this recipe...but I think next time, I'll stick with my mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My grandmother used to make these for my sister and i when we slept over, her grams made them on easter in her youth. these are more authentic according to my gram then how she taught me (using pancake mix,as kids we knew these as pancake balls) but I still added her "secret ingredient" a dash of orange juice. if you can find one there is a type of cast iron pan with ball shapes cut out that we fry these in, it cuts the need for a vat of oil. though I inherited the pan from my grams and haven't been able to find a duplicate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
A Dutch friend of mine suggested that I find a recipe for these, and am I glad he did! They were heavenly. My children immediately declared them 'apple fritters' but in any case, my double recipe disappeared long before the ball dropped on New Year's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfulmotherof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The only place I know that sells these is a little Dutch bakery in Bishop that's hours away. When I found this recipe I just about died! I made them for Christmas morning & everyone in my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESRANCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Not bad! A little denser than ones I've had in the Netherlands, but could have been user error! I had to substitute breadmachine yeast. Overall, not bad when I didn't have a mix and "needed" them for New Years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States