Oliebollen (Dutch Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have been making them for almost 50 years, every year for New Years Eve party's. They are by far the most eaten item on the table. Usually all gone by the end of the eve. I make them with and without the raisens. Believe it or not some people don't like raisens, go figure! Personnally they have to have the raisens to get the full flavor of the OliBollen. Thank God for the Dutch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
When I was growing up, we lived near a grocery chain that always had oliebollen available in the bakery, which delighted my Dutch father. This New Year's I decided to try to make them myself and am very impressed with this recipe. I left out the salt entirely (I rarely use it in baking) and used all currants instead of raisins as that is how I remember oliebollen. They turned out great! Another reviewer suggested using a cast iron pan, and from the description it sounds like an aebleskiver pan, which can be found online and probably in gourmet cooking stores too. I will try that next time I make these to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
A decent version of oliebollen (or smoutebollen as my Belgian Flemmish in-laws would call it.) The springy/chewy texture is spot-on. A couple of things: Firstly, there was too much salt, I will cut it in half for next time. Second, I didn't add the fruit, which is not the typical way I've ever seen it in the serveral places I've had it in Belgium. And lastly I replaced the fresh cake yeast with a single serving of standard quick rise, which i added to the flour as per the yeast's instructions. This worked well and shorted the rise time quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I was a fan. I used a candy thermometer to make sure my oil was exactly at 375. They only needed to cook for about 4 minutes, not 8. I used 1 1/2 tsp of regular yeast, 1/4 cup sugar and reduced the salt to 1 tsp. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are just like my mom always made; sort of, or at least the taste is. My mom always used the boxed mix from our local Dutch store, and she used beer, not milk. But her batter was always runny like a pancake batter. When I made this, the dough was very sticky and hard to work with. I'm not sure if it was supposed to be that way or not. There was no way I could ever shape balls with my hands, altho using two spoons pretty much made it a ball shape. But I will definitely make again with this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My dad, who never cooked, made this every year for New Year's. He died 31 years ago and I thought he took the recipe with him to his grave, but I found it on this website. Can't wait to make it this holiday season for my family. I was saddened to think that this wonderful recipe had left our home forever. Thank you, All Recipes for providing this perfect, traditional dish for me to share with my loved ones, even after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I add a bit more milk to thin it out and use about 1/3 less salt. Let rise for at least 2 hours. I also like to add a bit of cinnamon to the raisin ones and pumpkin pie spice to the apple ones (just a couple dashes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Miedema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
They turned out great! Used 1 tsp of salt. Also 1/2 cup of yellow and dark rasins. Apples were a little larger than the typical field run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Roosenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We found these oliebollen had too much salt and they were a tad dry. made them with 1 tsp. salt and 2 cups of flour instead. perfect for our tastebuds. However someone ate them all so they could not have been bad at all. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intermet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My 87 year old mother and I make these every new years eve. We use peanut oil for frying (my idea). We use 5# of unbleached flour and leave out the eggs because her father use to tell her that it makes them like bread and they dry out. We freeze some as soon as they are cool and she enjoys them year around. The last one was consumed a week before Christsmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States