Olie Bollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am Dutch and we make it for old years day and we make a lot like 50-100 pieces for the familiy. On new years day we eat the "left overs"as breakfast or even as lunch. Besides oliebollen we make appelflappen, sliced apples with cinnamon and sugar in a dough Oil balls is the name becuase they look like balls baked in oil. On the oliiebollen you pour sugarpouwder (a lot) not normal sugar. You can also make them with out raisin or apple offically oliebollen are without raisin and rozijnenbollen/raisenballs are with. But most people make them with Real Dutch is to pour beer and milk in the dough and not eggs and water. For 41/2 cups flour I use about 1 bottle of beer (330 ml) and 3 or 4 cups of handwarm milk, 2 apples shopped, 2 cups of raisins, 2-3 spoons of sugar. 2 packages of yeast, teaspoon salt. Put it all together until the dough is in a thick ribbon running of your spoon and the it double it size when it rest We bake them in a pan filled with oil 2-3 ltr. I use a pan that can keep the temprature on 180 degrees C and bake for a few hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a traditonal Dutch recipe, that's served every year around Newyear's Eve. I have a few pointers: I use more sugar (or sweetner). To fully enjoy the taste of the apples, you should use sour apples. According to this recipe, the raisins are optional, but they're actually standard ingredients (in Holland). Also try canned pineapple for a sweeter result. Or rum-raisins to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I was SO surprised to hear that this was a New Years tradition with the dutch, even though we made these EVERY New Years day- I thought it was just a family thing LOL! Our recipe did not use yeast and is very easy to make: 2 cup of buttermilk 3 tbsp oil 1 1 /4 cup sugar 2-3 eggs 1 tsp baking soda 1 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp salt 1 cup raisins 4 cups of flour. Mix all ingrediants and deep fry till golden . makes about 3 dozen YUM- bring on the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
MMMM very good. I doubled the recipe so I would have lots enough to give away some. I don't recommend this, it takes forever to cook them! My deep fryer is not very big so I could only cook 2 at a time as they do get a lot bigger while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My partner is Dutch. We've been having Olliebolen since we had our first new year together. Depending on the number of guests we are entertaining, usually i divide the dough into two batches before adding the dried fruits and wait for a bit til it rises again and add one batch with the dried and candied fruits and the other one with apple rings to make appelflappen. Sieve a lot of confectioner sugar + cinnamon on them before serving. Better serve warm. Love it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Excellent. I added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. They disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very similar to my father's recipe, except he added 1 tsp. vanilla and lots of cinnamon and substituted currants for the raisins. Confectioners sugar for dipping them into is a must. I have kept up this tradition in my home and it wouldn't be the same on New Year's Eve without making these for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
very good! dipped them icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious & easy!!! I didn't read the instructions correctly & added the rasins & granny smith apples before it had rested & risen, but it still turned out perfectly. Sort of tastes like funnel cake from the fair! I made 12 servings & that was too much. Best to serve & eat immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I couldn't taste the apple enough and I tasted the yeast a little too much but I still enjoyed them. We made them for a group of 5 people and got mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States