Olie Bollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My mom made these every New Year's Day when she was alive. Instead of using white sugar to decorate them, she dusted them with confectioner's sugar. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious & easy!!! I didn't read the instructions correctly & added the rasins & granny smith apples before it had rested & risen, but it still turned out perfectly. Sort of tastes like funnel cake from the fair! I made 12 servings & that was too much. Best to serve & eat immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I was SO surprised to hear that this was a New Years tradition with the dutch, even though we made these EVERY New Years day- I thought it was just a family thing LOL! Our recipe did not use yeast and is very easy to make: 2 cup of buttermilk 3 tbsp oil 1 1 /4 cup sugar 2-3 eggs 1 tsp baking soda 1 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp salt 1 cup raisins 4 cups of flour. Mix all ingrediants and deep fry till golden . makes about 3 dozen YUM- bring on the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Yonkman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Excellent. I added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. They disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a traditonal Dutch recipe, that's served every year around Newyear's Eve. I have a few pointers: I use more sugar (or sweetner). To fully enjoy the taste of the apples, you should use sour apples. According to this recipe, the raisins are optional, but they're actually standard ingredients (in Holland). Also try canned pineapple for a sweeter result. Or rum-raisins to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I couldn't taste the apple enough and I tasted the yeast a little too much but I still enjoyed them. We made them for a group of 5 people and got mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have not tried this particular recipe, but it is very similar to my mother's. Instead of apples, I use currants and rasins. Next time I will try it with apples. My family loves them amd I have to make them for New Year's Eve every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
MMMM very good. I doubled the recipe so I would have lots enough to give away some. I don't recommend this, it takes forever to cook them! My deep fryer is not very big so I could only cook 2 at a time as they do get a lot bigger while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States