Olga's Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
IM 3RD GENERATION, POTICA MAKER, NIETHER RECIPE TALKS ABOUT THE FILLING, OR THE SECOND RISE OF THE DOUGH IN THE BOWL, OR THE 3RD RISE OF THE LOAVES, A PRINTED LINEN TABLE CLOTH TAPED TIGHTLY TO A TABLE TOP 36"X 30" OR LARGER, AND FLOURED , IS THE BEST PLACE TO ROLL OUT THE DOUGHT, ROLL IT SO THIN YOU CAN SEE THE PATERN OF THE TABLE CLOTH THROUGH THE DOUGH,UN TAPE THE TABLE CLOTH AND PULL SLOWLY TO ROLL I, THEN CUT IN TO LOAVES. TIP , ADD 1 CAN DRAINED CRUSHED PINAPPLE TO THE FILLING, AND YOU WILL NEVER HAVE DRY POTICA AGAIN, CANT TELLL THERE THERE, ALSO WHITE RAISENS ARE BEST IF YOU WANT TO ADD THEM, SPRINKLE ON THE DOUGH PRIOR TO ROLLING , AMOUNT IS UP TO YOU . MY FREIND BORN I SLOVIENIA , SAYS HE ALLWAYS HAD RAISENS GROWING UP , FIRST TIME WITHOUT WAS HERE IN THE STATES. I WILL TRY TO CONVINCE MY WIFE TO LET THE FAMILY RECIPE OUT OF THE BOX, DONT BE FOOLED THERE IS NO EASY WAY TO MAKE THIS, BUT THE EFFORTS ARE WAY WOTRH THE RESULTS, ITS MORE TIME THEN LABOR , EXCEPT FOR THE 20 MIN, CONTINUIOUS NEADING, WE TAG TEAM 5 MIN PER TURN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was time-consuming but definitely worth the trouble! I had a lot of fun making this with my sister, and although it's not Christmas yet, we sampled it the following morning for breakfast; divine!! We quickly froze the rest of the loaves(we doubled the recipe) so we wouldn't eat it all before the holiday! The dough was easy to work with and rolled out just great; nice thin layers. Thank you for a terrific recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
my croation grnadmother in southern illinois used to make this. i make it too when i have time. you come out with a 8x8 wad of dough, and it rolls out to a square yard of thin pastry you can see thru. best done on a small table , well-floured pastry cloth, that you can walk all the way around. roll patiently from the center out, or reach under with well-floured hands and stretch with the backs of your hands, knuckles slightly raised. lots of effort. no honey or raisins in my gram's- just walnuts, butter, white sugar, pinch nutmeg and lemon peel fine as you can chop it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The recipe that has been passed down in our family is different in a couple ways, one being we only use walnuts. Another way is that my Grandma would mix powdered sugar with the ground walnuts. My mother changed that part and mixes maple syrup in with the ground walnuts. I sometimes do both or just use maple syrup and we do not roll the dough out so thin and don't have as many rolls. The upside to that is that I have never had any problems with the rolling of the dough and so forth. We only make it for Christmas and Pascha (Easter). It is nice to see so many other people with the same tradition of Potica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
the filling i usually make and has been made like this for generations is ground walnuts, sugar and raisins soaked in rum. i omit the honey because i think it overwhelms the aroma of walnuts..but that's just me. an interesting twist is making potica with tarragon and cottage/cream cheese, it's really yummy and fragrant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
We have our own family recipe. Potica has been passed down in my family for four generations. We do NOT use raisins, and always use walnuts NOT pecans. Either use a cheesecloth or flat sheet on your table for rolling out. Sometimes you have to pull the dough to strech it out. Then you can lift the sheet on the side to have the dough w/filling roll nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Just one comment: Preheat the oven 15 minutes before the end of the second rising otherwise you'll be heating your kitchen for 3 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I have a similar recipe given to me by my MIL that has been passed down through her Slovanian family for years. We make a HUGE batch (5 loaves) and the easiest way to cut the loaves is to use unflavored dental floss. It also helps if you use a large cheese cloth to aid in rolling the dough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I've made and eaten potica all my life. This filling appears harder than it should. I've never used raisins nor would I. Ground walnuts are best and most nut stores sell them already ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I've made potica, or povitica as my Croatian Grandma would say, for several years but was never satisfied with the dough recipe until I tried this one. It is very easy to work with, light and delicious. I increase the amount of raisins and walnuts and grind them into a spreadable paste using a food processor. Also, I add between 1/4 - 1/2 cup sweet red wine to the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States