Olde Tavern Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Being from Virginia I was raised eating spoonbread. Very good but I never allow batter to cool before mixing in eggs, just temper. I added a little sugar **Tip- heat casserole dish in the oven, once hot place 1 tbsp of butter in dish to melt. Pour batter and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Yum, yum, yum. The first time I had spoon bread was at Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg, VA. I have been looking for a spoon bread recipe like that for ages. This one is definitely a keeper. Just remember to put a nice pat of butter on top and let it melt down! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginag

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is actually a great base for spoon bread. When I worked in kitchens, we'd add whatever we had lying around that couldn't be used to something else. I took this recipe and added about a cup of sauteed peppers & onions, a cup of frozen corn, 2 cups of cheese, green onions, parsley, and diced sausage of some sort. It turned out great and it useful for cleaning out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I always add about a quarter of a cup chopped cooked bacon and shredded cheese. My mother-in-law used to make it this way and I absolutley love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I think this is the same recipe my mom used in th '50's. I LOVE this. May be plain by itself, but wonderful with lots of butter. Comfort food at it's finest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
this was the first time i had spoon bread so i don't know what it is supposed to taste like but this was very bland. corn cake is more my style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Although this was quite tasty, it wasn't as creamy as I'm use to having spoon bread. I'll look for my old recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Didn't change a thing and it's perfect. Just like I remember it from my childhood...with a large pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Not very flavorful on its own, but it was a great side with tangy tomato sauced baked chicken. I really liked the texture of the spoon bread and the crispy, chewy "crust".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made this spoon bread with taco soup and doubled the recipe, my family loved it!! Taste just like my mother use to make. I didn't wait for milk and cornmeal to cool, but tempered eggs into mixture and preheated pan in oven with tbsp of butter as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgsiska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States