Olde Tavern Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Yum, yum, yum. The first time I had spoon bread was at Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg, VA. I have been looking for a spoon bread recipe like that for ages. This one is definitely a keeper. Just remember to put a nice pat of butter on top and let it melt down! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginag

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
this was the first time i had spoon bread so i don't know what it is supposed to taste like but this was very bland. corn cake is more my style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Not very flavorful on its own, but it was a great side with tangy tomato sauced baked chicken. I really liked the texture of the spoon bread and the crispy, chewy "crust".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is actually a great base for spoon bread. When I worked in kitchens, we'd add whatever we had lying around that couldn't be used to something else. I took this recipe and added about a cup of sauteed peppers & onions, a cup of frozen corn, 2 cups of cheese, green onions, parsley, and diced sausage of some sort. It turned out great and it useful for cleaning out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I always add about a quarter of a cup chopped cooked bacon and shredded cheese. My mother-in-law used to make it this way and I absolutley love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I think this is the same recipe my mom used in th '50's. I LOVE this. May be plain by itself, but wonderful with lots of butter. Comfort food at it's finest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Being from Virginia I was raised eating spoonbread. Very good but I never allow batter to cool before mixing in eggs, just temper. I added a little sugar **Tip- heat casserole dish in the oven, once hot place 1 tbsp of butter in dish to melt. Pour batter and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Didn't change a thing and it's perfect. Just like I remember it from my childhood...with a large pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made this tonight. I didn't have time to let it cool so I whipped the cornmeal mixture in my stand mixer to cool it enough to add the eggs. (I saw another recipe that called for a stand mixer) It turned out light and fluffy with a custardy middle. Wonderful. We enjoyed it with butter and then with some honey for dessert. (Might add a tiny bit more salt next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Although this was quite tasty, it wasn't as creamy as I'm use to having spoon bread. I'll look for my old recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States