Old World Poppy Seed Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Thank you. My Polish mom always added Golden raisins to her recipe. Tends to give a little more moisture to the roll. Also walnuts chopped rather small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
this is amazing the texture and taste are right on.. I had this quite a few years ago at a friends house for a party and just had to have the recipe Its now a tradition here in my house the flavor is outstanding and I have passed it on thanks so much for sharing it's a keeper in our house........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe!I used my stand mixer for the dough which made it quite easy to do.I also used canned poppy seed filling like many others. Before baking I did the egg white wash and sprinkled with raw sugar. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amysagoodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriam Calleja
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was something extremely different for me, both in method and in taste. I loved it and will definitely be making it again. Will also blog about it and send you a ping back from muchadoaboutnoting.com. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Calleja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used poppy seeds from GFS, and the filling was delicious. I thought it odd that the recipe did not call for the dough to have a "first rise" before forming the loaves. I don't know if the humid day was a factor, but the dough was so springy that I had a hard time rolling it out to the 12x16 rectangle, and while I stopped to re-read the directions, the dough rested a moment and was easier to roll. I baked it as directed, and unfortunately, I have more of a poppy seed cracker roll with a delicious filling. It is not bread-like at all. If I were to make it again, I would let the dough rise for an hour before rolling out to form the rolls, then let it rise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The dough came out perfect the first try. Be sure the seam is down and centered while raising and baking or you may have some filling leak out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Deliciuos and easy! Reminded me of my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My mother makes this every year and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent! My mother and Slovak grandmother made this every year at Christmastime. They made poppy seed, apricot, and nut rolls using this same basic recipe, just substituting the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The ratio on pastry to poppyseed was off for my family. Too many poppyseeds. I will make a single loaf with the bread next time and cut the poppyseed mix in half. Maybe add a little more sugar to the bread dough to make up for the reduced sugar/poppyseed mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States