Old World Poppy Seed Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Thank you for the recipe. Used to have these every easter and christmas from my grandmother, until she pasted. Try it with a walnut filling it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was incredible! The dough was easy to work with. My Slovak father used to buy this at a bakery in New York, I haven't had it in 40 years!! It tasted exactly how I remember it! I also used a can of poppy seeds, simply fabulous! Thank you so much for a little piece of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I rolled my dough too thin and it split, but it was easy to make and smelled wonderful. I also let the dough rise for about 30 minutes in a warm place. It handlers well and baked up nicely... Cut beautifully. I sprinkled with sugar before baking and also sprinkled with powdered sugar after baking. Smelled like my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Great tasting dough! Seemed like I had a lot of filling, but better more then not enough. Easy to make. I followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I have a 32 oz can of poppyseed/sugar mix (from a Polish grocery store)... can someone please tell me if/how I need to modify this recipe? Would love to make this tonight, if possible. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly as written, and it came out great! My Slavic husband said that the taste of both the dough and the filling was PERFECT. I was worried at how thin the pastry was, but I guess that contributed to it baking perfectly through all the layers. Even though my seam was down and centered, it still leaked - oh well. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Made this for my mother-n-law for her 86th Christmas Birthday surprise. She said it is just like her moms. And much better then her brothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Been making makos beigli for 30 years and my husband is Hungarian (among many other Magyar recipes). This recipe is the best of any I have found The dough is easy to work with and, yes, I use the canned poppy seed. I add a table spoon of honey and some grated lemon rind and a teaspoon or so of lemon juice to "doctor" the canned poppyseed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Thank you. My Polish mom always added Golden raisins to her recipe. Tends to give a little more moisture to the roll. Also walnuts chopped rather small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States