Old World Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I'm happy to be the first to review this recipe. It is delicious! We live in a predominantly Italian area of northeastern Ohio and my husband and I have enjoyed this soup in several area restaurants... this version is very authentic tasting. Just be sure to have warm crusty bread on hand, and if you're like my husband, extra red pepper flakes :) Next time I make it he said be sure to double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is awesome, i made it for my family a few times. I also used Smoked pork hocks (yea sounds gross lol) but it gave it a really good flavor in stead of the bacon. I also cut small pieces of ham in it. Guess what is for dinner tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I found this receipe to be great. Good to bring to the office for lunch. I added bulgar and it was fantastic. Good with just using vegatable broth and my vegan neice says it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
My grandmother used to make this (using any kind of pork she happened to have on hand, or meatless) all of the time and -- specifically because escarole is too bitter for my taste -- I never liked it and have always "adapted" her recipe by substituting spinach for it. But my husband likes escarole (he orders it every time we go to dinner at a local Italian restaurant), so the other day when escarole was on sale for $0.79 per pound and a bag of spinach was selling for $2.99, I thought I'd give him a thrill. I par-cooked 3 boneless pork chops (instead of the bacon) in a little bit of butter and a splash of olive oil, added a handful of baby carrots and a T. of granulated sugar to my pot and cooked everything together for 45 minutes. My husband loved it, and promised that if I would make this for him at least "sometimes", he'd never ever again spend $6.95 for a bowl of escarole soup (sounds like a plan). As for me? I still don't like escarole, but prepared this way, I had to begrudgingly admit that it was at least "quite edible".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious, but what do you do with the bacon? It doesn't say if you're supposed to throw it out or put it back in at the end...I used pancetta and put it back in but it got really bacon-y after a day so I might skip that step altogether next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I substituted the escarole with spinach because I did not want to chance the bitterness of the escarole. The entire family loved the recipe, including my wife and our 11 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickster
Home Town: Marion, New York, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Delicious - a light soup with a nice garlic flavor. Skipped the red pepper because we don't like it and we didn't miss it at all. Did not find the escarole bitter either. Enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This makes four small servings - fine for a side or a starter, but if you're making this your main meal double the recipe. We added extra hot pepper flakes and a pinch of salt to our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really great flavor from the escarole, Added another can of chicken broth and a chicken bouillon cube at the simmer stage for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judije5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
came out great! Add a little extra red pepper to kick it up a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States