Old-World Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Just tossed everything in a pot and cooked low 2 hours. Also added an onion soup mix! Taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
A. This is an easy and delicious soup to make, not requiring a lot of cooking savvy. B. If you are dieting, watch in that it's filling, so much so, that an hour later you may have "rebound hunger." It's NOt a soup for sustained energy, as perhaps a lentil soup. Consider this when exercising. I think this is best as an addition to your normal caloric needs ala volumetric type of eating/dietary regimen. As an example, I just had a bowl of this soup with avocado/tomato salad for some fat/calories with this soup. I feel full (soup) and charged (the salad). C. I made some homemade ketchup in my Vitamix a few days before. I think the brown sugar in that recipe gave this soup an extra savory flavor. Enjoy! C. I made homemade ketchup in my Vitamix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I'm not a fan of cabbage, but I got it in my CSA box, and I tried this. I don't know how big a "medium" head is, but I used roughly 10-12 cups of chopped cabbage, 4 cups of veggie stock, a knorr chicken stock concentrate tub with 2-3 cups water for the chicken stock (subtracted cups of water the recipe called to account for the added stocks), 5 carrots and celery, and garlic powder. All in the crockpot for about 6-7 hrs on low. Added drained/rinsed cannellini beans for the last half hour (about 4 cups). We really liked it. My husband isn't a fan of soups usually but even he said it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Eliminate the ketchup and the vegetable cocktail juice. Replace with two cans of unsalted diced tomatoes -- or your own home canned tomatoes. There's also no reason to "nuke" the chopped vegetables in a microwave. Sautee them in a little butter with two table spoons of olive oil then add to pot. Everything will be perfect after two hours simmering on the stove. Add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Best soup ever. I used beef broth rather than chicken, as well as "Garden cocktail veg." It was Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved this soup! Was a little sweet which was ok with me. Only thing I did different was add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
was very simple and mindless to make and yet was very robust with flavor. I might add I used V8 instead of fruit cocktail and it came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Initially I would have rated this 3 stars because it was a little bland to me. Then I followed another persons advice and added some dried herbs - basil, oregano, and marjoram. Now it is much, much better. I even threw in some edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used napa cabbage and some left-over sausage stuffed mushrooms (Italian sausage). It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used a whole cabbage and took the advice of adding white beans. I also added some hot sauce for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States