Old Virginia Wassail Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have been serving this hot cider at my annual Christmas party for years. It is delicious and so easy to make. I make it an hour or so before the guests arrive and this year I kept it warm in my new slow cooker which was much more convenient than keeping it on the stove in the stock pot. The aroma fills the house and puts everyone in a festive mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Hemingway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is amazing Wassail! I tried some at Biltmore Mansion in Asheville, where they were selling the spice mix. It was good however this is far superior. A must have all winter long. I put it back in the jug and reheat the next morning. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I thought this tasted good. A friend of mine gave me the recipe for the mulled cider served in colonial Willamsburg, at Christmas time, that I just loved. I thought I would try other spiced ciders and wassail punch to compare. It wasn't quite sweet or cinnamony as the mulled cider, with the brown sugar and ground spices, that I had tried using the Williamsburg recipe. This was more of a winter's version of a fruity punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I looked for a few wassail recipes online and finally picked this one as the one to make and I'm so glad I did. It is amazing and reminds me of my childhood. Finally found our traditional holiday drink. Exceptional - you won't be disappointed! I followed the recipe exactly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I took this to a New Year's party and it was a HUGE hit. Everyone kept asking me what was in it because it was so good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! Even my sister, who isn't very fond of wassail, enjoyed this recipe. And it's just as delicious cold, and with a touch of lemon-lime soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! This was my first time making wassail, and it was very good. My guests asked for the recipe. I'm giving this four stars because I've never had wassail that wasn't yummy, and I don't think this was necessarily better than wassail that I've tried other times/places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
we made this a long time ago and I just forgot to rate and review...talk about absolutely yummy! Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this for Christmas and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This brought back memories for the grandparents! We loved it. My 6-year-old daughter even liked to drink it cold because she doesn't like hot drinks. But everyone else drank it hot. It was great either way. I don't ever have cheesecloth lying around, but I at least should have strained the cloves out after preparing the recipe because some of them sank after they got saturated and then it is a lot harder to fish them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States