Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good! I used real butter and added 1/4 tsp Cream of tarter. They are very cake like! Make sure to put a good amount of sugar on the top before baking to give it a cracked top. These are just like the amish bakery we used to have in the area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is the BEST! The bakery in my local grocery store used to make a cookie like this but they don't make it anymore and I could never find the right recipe until now. Now I can make my own. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
These cookies puff up almost like little cakes. They are soft and fluffy and very good. I used butter flavored Crisco and sprinkled the tops with crystal sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Perfect! I was looking for a soft, cake-like sugar cookie for the kids (like you find at the "supercenter") and these were perfect! I iced them and gave them sprinkles to decorate with. I did sub half of the shortening for butter to add richness. Thanks for the recipe! AWESOME! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I was out of every kind of milk except sweetened condensed milk, so I added half that/half water for the buttermilk. They had a great flavor and didn't seem to affect the recipe negatively at all. I lowered the temp and baked for about 9 minutes--they were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We love this quick and easy soft, sweet cookie recipe. Yes they are like little cakes and that makes them wonderful!! You can add different flavors and spices. Try substituting yogurt for the buttermilk. Vanilla yogurt is my favorite but other flavored ones work too. Add some espresso powder (dissolved in a little water) and cocoa in the mix with a thin chocolate glaze for a yummy mocha treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
These cookies taste more like little cakes than cookies. The flavor is good, but they did not taste like a sugar cookie. Whenever I asked people if they wanted a cookie, they said, "Oh! I thought those were biscuits" because of their large fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
These cookies are light and fluffy,and hard to keep in the cookie jar. They seem to keep soft even after a couple of days. This cookie is a must for cookie fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is over all a very good and easy cookie. They are not too sweet, and would work well with most additions (such as frosting, glaze, etc). They are a bit too cake-like for my preference, but that is a small issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I love these cookies! They are light and fluffy and are great with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States