Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
These cookies are light and fluffy,and hard to keep in the cookie jar. They seem to keep soft even after a couple of days. This cookie is a must for cookie fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is the BEST! The bakery in my local grocery store used to make a cookie like this but they don't make it anymore and I could never find the right recipe until now. Now I can make my own. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
These cookies puff up almost like little cakes. They are soft and fluffy and very good. I used butter flavored Crisco and sprinkled the tops with crystal sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
These were definitely easy to make. I was looking for soft, but chewy kinda, and these are cakelike puffy. (I should have looked at the reviews but I was in a hurry.) My husband loved them, so I'll make them for him, it's just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
These cookies taste more like little cakes than cookies. The flavor is good, but they did not taste like a sugar cookie. Whenever I asked people if they wanted a cookie, they said, "Oh! I thought those were biscuits" because of their large fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I love these cookies! They are light and fluffy and are great with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
when reading the reviews, i thought the reviewers were exaggerating when they said these where more like mini cakes than cookies. well, i should have listened to them. these were like cakes. they were also very bland. i doubt i'll be making these again. thanx anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I was out of every kind of milk except sweetened condensed milk, so I added half that/half water for the buttermilk. They had a great flavor and didn't seem to affect the recipe negatively at all. I lowered the temp and baked for about 9 minutes--they were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
They weren't like any other sugar cookie you've ever had. I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Perfect! I was looking for a soft, cake-like sugar cookie for the kids (like you find at the "supercenter") and these were perfect! I iced them and gave them sprinkles to decorate with. I did sub half of the shortening for butter to add richness. Thanks for the recipe! AWESOME! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States